Home Formula 2 Ticktum edges Schumacher in Formula 2 Barcelona practice

Ticktum edges Schumacher in Formula 2 Barcelona practice

by Craig Woollard

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Dan Ticktum was fastest for DAMS in the sole practice session for the Formula 2 round at Barcelona.

In contrast to the FIA Formula 3 session earlier, the teams and drivers took to the track early on in the 45-minute session.

While Prema’s Mick Schumacher was the early pacesetter, Ticktum narrowly pipped him around about the halfway point to take the top spot by 0.009 seconds.

A late red flag for Trident’s Marino Sato coming to a stop brought a brief pause to proceedings, but the session was resumed with a few minutes on the clock.

However, times did not improve as the drivers found themselves struggling on the worn harder tyres, and Ticktum’s time was not beaten.

Just over a tenth behind was Carlin’s Yuki Tsunoda, the most recent race winner. Tsunoda had trouble getting away in the pits on two separate occasions, but his running was largely uninterrupted given the instances occurred late on.

Charouz Racing System’s Louis Deletraz was fourth, ahead of championship leader Callum Ilott.

HWA Racelab’s Artem Markelov was sixth, ahead of Hitech’s Luca Ghiotto and Sato.

MP Motorsport’s Felipe Drugovich was ninth, while Schumacher’s team-mate Robert Shwartzman rounded out the top 10 after having his fastest lap interrupted by Ticktum.

It appeared to be a challenging session for ART Grand Prix, with Christian Lundgaard 16th and Marcus Armstrong only 20th.

The field was separated by 1.3s, with Trident’s Roy Nissany last of the runners after he took part in his maiden Formula 1 free practice with Williams shortly beforehand.


Practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Dan Ticktum DAMS 1m29.660s 17
2 Mick Schumacher Prema 1m29.669s +0.009s 16
3 Yuki Tsunoda Carlin 1m29.761s +0.101s 16
4 Louis Deletraz Charouz 1m29.807s +0.147s 16
5 Callum Ilott Virtuosi 1m29.823s +0.163s 16
6 Artem Markelov HWA 1m29.964s +0.304s 17
7 Luca Ghiotto Hitech GP 1m30.009s +0.349s 16
8 Marino Sato Trident 1m30.028s +0.368s 15
9 Felipe Drugovich MP Motorsport 1m30.050s +0.390s 15
10 Robert Shwartzman Prema 1m30.111s +0.451s 17
11 Nikita Mazepin Hitech GP 1m30.179s +0.519s 17
12 Jehan Daruvala Carlin 1m30.222s +0.562s 18
13 Guanyu Zhou Virtuosi 1m30.314s +0.654s 16
14 Pedro Piquet Charouz 1m30.320s +0.660s 17
15 Jack Aitken Campos 1m30.380s +0.720s 15
16 Christian Lundgaard ART 1m30.450s +0.790s 18
17 Sean Gelael DAMS 1m30.486s +0.826s 17
18 Giuliano Alesi HWA 1m30.604s +0.944s 16
19 Nobuharu Matsushita MP Motorsport 1m30.649s +0.981s 17
20 Marcus Armstrong ART 1m30.681s +1.021s 18
21 Guilherme Samaia Campos 1m30.947s +1.287s 17
22 Roy Nissany Trident 1m31.019s +1.359s 17