Home Z - Archive seriesFIA European F3 Three out of three for Rosenqvist at Spielberg

Three out of three for Rosenqvist at Spielberg

by Valentin Khorounzhiy

Photo: FIA Formula 3 European Championship / Thomas Suer

Swedish driver Felix Rosenqvist continued a string of phenomenal performances during European F3’s round at Spielberg, taking win number three to significantly close in on the championship lead.

Poleman Daniil Kvyat again lost out at the start, but had the pace to keep up with the Swede, ultimately finishing in a very strong second. In third, Prema’s Lucas Auer completed a rather decent home outing.

A smooth drive from Harry Tincknell allowed him to take fourth, ahead of teammate Jordan King. Raffaele Marciello was only sixth, noticeably lacking the pace to fight with the race leaders, while Nicholas Latifi secured seventh with a fantastic overtake in the closing stages of the race on Pipo Derani.

Derani himself finished only ninth, as Alex Lynn was another beneficiary of Latifi’s move. Mucke’s Roy Nissany finished tenth, with Lucas Wolf picking up the final point.

The race ran to time due to a lengthy safety car period, which was caused by a huge five-car shunt in the opening stages of the race.

In the standings, Marciello’s lead has taken a severe hit, as he now only leads Rosenqvist by 27.5 points, compared to the 77.5-point advantage he had coming into the weekend.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Felix Rosenqvist Mucke Motorsport 20 laps in 35:12.692
2 Daniil Kvyat Carlin +2.691
3 Lucas Auer Prema Powerteam +7.005
4 Harry Tincknell Carlin +8.743
5 Jordan King Carlin +9.845
6 Raffaele Marciello Prema Powerteam +10.236
7 Nicholas Latifi Carlin +18.342
8 Alex Lynn Prema Powerteam +19.266
9 Pipo Derani Fortec +20.606
10 Roy Nissany Mucke Motorsport +20.868
11 Lucas Wolf URD Rennsport +22.184
12 Josh Hill Fortec +24.990
13 Felix Serralles Fortec +26.159
14 William Buller Fortec +29.179
15 Michael Lewis Mucke Motorsport +38.770
16 Spike Goddard ThreeBond/T-Sport +39.218
17 Tatiana Calder?n Double R Racing +43.110
18 Andre Rudersdorf ma-con +55.429
19 Sandro Zeller Jo Zeller Racing +59.615
20 Sean Gelael Double R Racing +2 laps
Not classified
Sven Muller ma-con +9 laps
Antonio Giovinazzi Double R Racing +10 laps
Eddie Cheever Prema Powerteam +10 laps
Jann Mardenborough Carlin +19 laps
Tom Blomqvist EuroInternational +19 laps
Mitchell Gilbert Mucke Motorsport +19 laps
Mans Grenhagen Van Amersfoort +19 laps
Dennis van de Laar Van Amersfoort +19 laps
Series standings (points-scorers only)
Pos. Driver Team Pts.
1 Raffaele Marciello Prema Powerteam 239.5
2 Felix Rosenqvist Mucke Motorsport 212
3 Lucas Auer Prema Powerteam 165
4 Alex Lynn Prema Powerteam 133.5
5 Harry Tincknell Carlin 130
6 Tom Blomqvist EuroInternational 94.5
7 Felix Serralles Fortec 76
8 Jordan King Carlin 76
9 Sven Muller ma-con 60
10 Josh Hill Fortec 56
11 Pascal Wehrlein Mucke Motorsport 49
12 William Buller Fortec/ThreeBond 39
13 Nicholas Latifi Carlin 37
14 Lucas Auer Prema Powerteam 28
15 Pipo Derani Fortec 18
16 Eddie Cheever Prema Powerteam 18
17 Dennis van de Laar Van Amersfoort 11
18 Roy Nissany Mucke Motorsport 7
19 Michael Lewis Mucke Motorsport 6
20 Jann Mardenborough Carlin 5
21 Antonio Giovinazzi Double R Racing 3
22 Andre Rudersdorf ma-con 1