Home Formula 4British F4 Storm Francis shortens British F4 practice day at Knockhill

Storm Francis shortens British F4 practice day at Knockhill

by Ida Wood

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

British Formula 4 held four test sessions at Knockhill on Tuesday, although running was shortened by severe wet weather hitting the Scottish circuit.

A Met Office yellow warning was actually put out during the day due to the high winds and rain being brought to the area by Storm Francis.

The circuit was already wet at the start of the day, in which Carlin’s Zak O’Sullivan set the pace narrowly from Fortec Motorsports’ points leader Luke Browning.

Despite the weather getting even worse for the second session, laptimes remained at pretty much the same level and Browning edged Arden’s Alex Connor and O’Sullivan to the top of the times.

While the track temperature remained at 10°C in the third session, the rain continued to fall even harder. Browning found a way to set the best time of the day though, a 56.750, which put him four tenths of a second clear of the rest of the field.

JHR Developments’ James Hedley was second fastest in session 3, putting him fourth overall, while Argenti Motorsport’s title contender Casper Stevenson only made exploratory laps.

Conditions worsened so far in the final session that between multiple red flags there was only two flying laps set by most of the field, with Hedley going fastest. The planned fifth session was then cancelled due to the weather.


Free practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Luke Browning Fortec Motorsports 56.750s 49
2 Alex Connor Arden 57.155s +0.405s 46
3 Zak O’Sullivan Carlin 57.177s +0.427s 43
4 James Hedley JHR Developments 57.207s +0.457s 49
5 Roman Bilinski Arden 57.271s +0.521s 48
6 Abbi Pulling JHR Developments 57.440s +0.690s 48
7 Roberto Faria Fortec Motorsports 57.661s +0.911s 42
8 Christian Mansell Carlin 57.895s +1.145s 45
9 Frederik Lubin Arden 58.041s +1.291s 45
10 Nico Pino Argenti Motorsport 58.097s +1.347s 30
11 Nathanel Hodgkiss JHR Developments 58.446s +1.696s 36
12 Matias Zagazeta Carlin 58.508s +1.758s 41
13 Reema Juffali Argenti Motorsport 59.278s +2.528s 31
14 Casper Stevenson Argenti Motorsport 1m00.713s +3.964s 5