Home Featured Schumacher beats Armstrong to head Prema 1-2-3-4 in first Misano race

Schumacher beats Armstrong to head Prema 1-2-3-4 in first Misano race

by Craig Woollard


Mick Schumacher scored his third Formula 3 European Championship win from pole position in the first race at Misano, beating Prema team-mate Marcus Armstrong.

Schumacher made a good start from pole and controlled any advances from Armstrong throughout the race, as the pair traded lap times throughout.

The son of the seven-time Formula 1 world champion Michael won the 24-lap race by 2.224 seconds at the finish.

Prema maintained the top-four lock-out it achieved in qualifying, with Robert Shwartzman completing the podium after passing team-mate Guan Yu Zhou at the start.

Zhou would finish fourth after pressing Shwartzman hard throughout the race early on and towards the finish but dropped back in the middle part of the race after a lock-up.

Silverstone race three winner Juri Vips completed the top five, after passing Jehan Daruvala at the start, and later his championship-leading Motopark team-mate Daniel Ticktum with a brave move down the inside.

Ticktum would go on to finish sixth after pressuring Zhou in the opening stages of the race, but retains his championship lead with a reduced margin over Armstrong.

Daruvala lost another position late in the race to Alex Palou. The former Formula 2 driver made a robust move around the outside on the Force India junior driver late in the race.

Ralf Aron finished seventh, ahead of Palou, Daruvala and Jonathan Aberdein. The latter lost ground at the start and failed to regain it.


Race results (24 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Mick Schumacher Prema 35m51.668s
2 Marcus Armstrong Prema +2.224s
3 Robert Shwartzman Prema +5.281s
4 Guan Yu Zhou Prema +5.948s
5 Juri Vips Motopark +7.401s
6 Dan Ticktum Motopark +11.348s
7 Ralf Aron Prema +11.584s
8 Alex Palou Hitech GP +12.375s
9 Jehan Daruvala Carlin +17.189s
10 Jonathan Aberdeinn Motopark +21.861s
11 Sacha Fenestraz Carlin +22.238s
12 Ferdinand Habsburg Carlin +22.684s
13 Artem Petrov Van Amersfoort Racing +24.424s
14 Fabio Scherer Motopark +26.750s
15 Marino Sato Motopark +31.607s
16 Sophia Floersch Van Amersfoort Racing +34.061s
17 Sebastian Fernandez Motopark +34.416s
18 Nikita Troitskiy Carlin +35.760s
19 Keyvan Andres Van Amersfoort Racing +36.437s
20 Ameya Vaidyanathan Carlin +44.070s
21 Enaam Ahmed Hitech GP +45.178s
22 Ben Hingeley Hitech GP +52.000s
Fastest lap: Vips, 1m29.142s

Championship Standings
?Ticktum 198? ?2?Armstrong 190? ?3?Vips 167? ?4?Schumacher 161? ?5 Zhou 154? ?6 Aron 148.5? ?7 Ahmed 145? ?8 Shwartzman 121? ?9 Daruvala 115.5? ?10 Palou 108