Home Z - Archive seriesFIA European F3 Rosenqvist, Kvyat share Zandvoort poles

Rosenqvist, Kvyat share Zandvoort poles

by Valentin Khorounzhiy

Photo: FIA F3

Carlin’s European F3 guest driver Daniil Kvyat will start race one at Zandvoort from pole, while Felix Rosenqvist will head the field into action in the other two races.

Most of the leading squads opted for late-session runs, thus making the early minutes rather light on track action. In session one, the fight for pole got going with ten minutes remaining, upon which Kvyat eclipsed the field with a lap half-second up on the rest. At that point, the running was red-flagged, with Lucas Wolf stranded in sector three, and, after the action resumed, nobody quite managed to get close to the Russian’s pole time.

A last-gasp effort from Alex Lynn secured the Brit a front row spot, ahead of Felix Rosenqvist and Jordan King. Rosenqvist, however, was rewarded for consistent laptimes, as his second-best lap allowed him to take pole for race two.

Championship leader Raffaele Marciello was fifth in the session, with Harry Tincknell and teammate Lucas Auer behind. Pipo Derani was the top Fortec man in eighth, with Tom Blomqvist and Sven Muller rounding out the top ten.

In the second session, Rosenqvist was untouchable, constantly improving on his best lap to finally finish the run four tenths clear off his main rival Kvyat. King was third, ahead of Lynn and, yet again, Marciello.

Tincknell, Derani and Blomqvist completed the top eighth, with Muller and Mitchell Gilbert in ninth and tenth respectively.

Race grids
Pos. Race 1 Pos. Race 2 Pos. Race 3
1 Daniil Kvyat 1 Felix Rosenqvist 1 Felix Rosenqvist
2 Alex Lynn 2 Daniil Kvyat 2 Daniil Kvyat
3 Felix Rosenqvist 3 Alex Lynn 3 Jordan King
4 Jordan King 4 Jordan King 4 Alex Lynn
5 Raffaele Marciello 5 Harry Tincknell 5 Raffaele Marciello
6 Harry Tincknell 6 Pipo Derani 6 Harry Tincknell
7 Lucas Auer 7 Raffaele Marciello 7 Pipo Derani
8 Pipo Derani 8 Sven Muller 8 Tom Blomqvist
9 Tom Blomqvist 9 Tom Blomqvist 9 Sven Muller
10 Sven Muller 10 Mitchell Gilbert 10 Mitchell Gilbert
11 Michael Lewis 11 Jann Mardenborough 11 Lucas Auer
12 Mitchell Gilbert 12 Michael Lewis 12 Alexander Sims
13 Jann Mardenborough 13 Felix Serralles 13 Michael Lewis
14 Alexander Sims 14 Nicholas Latifi 14 Dennis van de Laar
15 Nicholas Latifi 15 Alexander Sims 15 Roy Nissany
16 Felix Serralles 16 Eddie Cheever 16 Jann Mardenborough
17 Eddie Cheever 17 Lucas Auer 17 Eddie Cheever
18 Antonio Giovinazzi 18 Antonio Giovinazzi 18 Alfonso Celis
19 Dennis van de Laar 19 Dennis van de Laar 19 Antonio Giovinazzi
20 Lucas Wolf 20 Lucas Wolf 20 Spike Goddard
21 Roy Nissany 21 Roy Nissany 21 Andre Rudersdorf
22 Andre Rudersdorf 22 Andre Rudersdorf 22 Lucas Wolf
23 Spike Goddard 23 Alfonso Celis 23 Sandro Zeller
24 Alfonso Celis 24 Spike Goddard 24 Sean Gelael
25 Sandro Zeller 25 Sandro Zeller 25 Tatiana Calderon
26 Tatiana Calderon 26 Tatiana Calderon 26 Felix Serralles
27 Sean Gelael 27 Sean Gelael 27 Nicholas Latifi