Home Z - Archive seriesFIA European F3 Rosenqvist and Cassidy keep Prema ahead in Portimao test

Rosenqvist and Cassidy keep Prema ahead in Portimao test

by Peter Allen
Felix Rosenqvist

Photo: Formula 3 European Championship

Felix Rosenqvist and Nick Cassidy completed two days of domination for Prema Powerteam in the pre-event FIA Formula 3 European Championship test at Portimao by leading the way on Wednesday.

In the morning session, Rosenqvist took top spot away from Cassidy after an hour and stayed there until the lunch break, 0.161 seconds ahead of his new team-mate.

The Swede quickly took the initiative again in the afternoon but was bettered by Cassidy inside the final half an hour by 0.131s.

Rosenqvist’s morning benchmark was the best of the day though, with Cassidy’s afternoon best nearly a second adrift.

The Prema pair were not in a league of their own though, with Carlin’s George Russell placing a close third in both sessions.

The morning saw Motopark’s Sergio Sette Camara and Markus Pommer complete the top five followed by Carlin duo Callum Ilott and Antonio Giovinazzi, the championship leader.

Alexander Sims took eighth for the new HitechGP entry, followed by Raoul Hyman and Pietro Fittipaldi.

In the afternoon, Pommer completed a quartet of top-five placings with fourth.

His fellow German Maximilian Gunther was fifth, exactly four tenths off the pace and with the remainder of the top 10 within a tenth of him.

That group included Ilott and Giovinazzi matching their morning results, followed by Sette Camara, Jake Dennis and Hyman.

After taking 15th in the morning, title contender Charles Leclerc was 11th in the afternoon.

With his outright pace confirmed by topping both of Tuesday’s sessions on two different circuit configurations, Lance Stroll had a low-key second day with 16th and 19th.

Combined Wednesday testing times
Pos Driver Team Session 1 Session 2
1 Felix Rosenqvist Prema Powerteam 1:41.759 1:42.802
2 Nick Cassidy Prema Powerteam 1:41.920 1:42.671
3 George Russell Carlin 1:41.934 1:42.838
4 Sergio Sette Camara Motopark 1:41.990 1:43.105
5 Markus Pommer Motopark 1:41.993 1:42.877
6 Callum Ilott Carlin 1:42.020 1:43.093
7 Antonio Giovinazzi Carlin 1:42.116 1:43.099
8 Alexander Sims HitechGP 1:42.210 1:44.164
9 Raoul Hyman West-Tec 1:42.323 1:43.168
10 Pietro Fittipaldi Fortec Motorsports 1:42.337 1:43.312
11 Alex Albon Signature 1:42.358 1:43.510
12 Sam MacLeod Motopark 1:42.383 1:43.279
13 Nabil Jeffri Motopark 1:42.405 1:43.366
14 Gustavo Menezes Carlin 1:42.418 1:43.219
15 Charles Leclerc Van Amersfoort Racing 1:42.466 1:43.195
16 Lance Stroll Prema Powerteam 1:42.508 1:43.503
17 Alessio Lorandi Van Amersfoort Racing 1:42.598 1:43.469
18 Tatiana Calderon Carlin 1:42.638 1:43.870
19 Mikkel Jensen Mucke Motorsport 1:42.646 1:43.293
20 Santino Ferrucci Mucke Motorsport 1:42.794 1:43.782
21 Julio Moreno T-Sport 1:42.810 1:43.537
22 Maximilian Gunther Mucke Motorsport 1:42.830 1:43.071
23 Matt Solomon Double R Racing 1:42.926 1:43.926
24 Chang Wing Chung Fortec Motorsports 1:42.933 1:43.732
25 Jake Dennis Prema Powerteam 1:43.030 1:43.119
26 Matt Rao Fortec Motorsports 1:43.063 1:44.158
27 Ryan Tveter Carlin 1:43.097 1:43.618
28 Michele Beretta Mucke Motorsport 1:43.327 1:43.433
29 Arjun Maini Van Amersfoort Racing 1:43.355 1:43.988
30 Dorian Boccolacci Signature 1:43.396 1:44.140
31 Li Zhi Cong Fortec Motorsports 1:43.569 1:44.166
32 Mahaveer Raghunathan Motopark 1:44.162 1:44.315