Home Featured Quinn completes incredible Indianapolis hat-trick on USF2000 debut

Quinn completes incredible Indianapolis hat-trick on USF2000 debut

by Peter Allen

Photo: Gavin Baker Photography

Alex Quinn has completed a remarkable hat-trick of wins on his USF2000 debut on the Indianapolis road course.

Driving for Velocity Racing Development in its new collaboration with his long-time team Arden, Quinn started race three from the outside of the front row but claimed the lead in turn one ahead of polesitter Jagger Jones .

From there he was never challenged and won by 2.2 seconds.

After their collision while leading ahead of Quinn in race two, Cape Motorsports duo Jones and Michael d’Orlando were left to fight over second.

D’Orlando made his way past on lap five and held onto second until the finish, even though Jones finished within half a second.

Jace Denmark got by Thomas Nepveu for fourth place on lap two and kept him at bay to the end.

Myles Rowe leapt up to sixth place on lap two having slipped from seventh to ninth at the start.

Billy Frazer worked his way up from 10th to seventh past Bijoy Garg and Simon Sikes with Spike Kohlbecker rounding out the top 10.

The top four in the standings are now separated by just five points with Jones leading Frazer, d’Orlando and Rowe.

Race results (15 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Alex Quinn Velocity Racing Development 21m47.8372s
2 Michael d’Orlando Cape Motorsports +2.2187s
3 Jagger Jones Cape Motorsports +2.6928s
4 Jace Denmark Pabst Racing +8.3080s
5 Thomas Nepveu DEForce Racing +8.7468s
6 Myles Rowe Pabst Racing +13.0387s
7 Billy Frazer Exclusive Autosport +17.6304s
8 Bijoy Garg DEForce Racing +17.9316s
9 Simon Sikes Legacy Autosport +18.9605s
10 Spike Kohlbecker Turn 3 Motorsport w/Ignite Autosport +19.2950s
11 Nicky Hays Cape Motorsports +21.1877s
12 Trey Burke Joe Dooling Autosports +23.0896s
13 Christian Weir Turn 3 Motorsport +23.0929s
14 Jacob Douglas Exclusive Autosport +26.4650s
15 Frankie Mossman Jay Howard Driver Development +31.4935s
16 Jackson Lee Cape Motorsports +32.8686s
17 Viktor Andersson Velocity Racing Development +34.2510s
18 Yeoroo Lee Jay Howard Driver Development +38.3132s
19 Chase Gardner DEForce Racing +42.0046s
20 Jorge Garciarce Jay Howard Driver Development +45.1663s
21 Dylan Christie DEForce Racing +55.7117s
22 Danny Dyszelski Jay Howard Driver Development +59.6480s
DNS Joey Brienza Exclusive Autosport
Fastest lap: Quinn, 1m26.7264s

Championship standings
1 Jones 132   2 Frazer 131   3 d’Orlando 130   4 Rowe 127   5 Denmark 116   6 Sikes 99   Quinn 93   8 Nepveu 92   9 Kohlbecker 86   10 Garg 86