Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup Piastri victorious in second Eurocup encounter at Hungaroring

Piastri victorious in second Eurocup encounter at Hungaroring

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: DPPI / Renault Sport

Oscar Piastri followed his race one non-start with a comfortable victory in the second Formula Renault Eurocup race at the Hungaroring.

The championship leader led from lights-to-flag and was unchallenged throughout most of the race.

His R-ace GP team-mate Alexander Smolyar was able to pull alongside on the opening lap, but couldn?t make a move stick and fell back behind the poleman before the safety car was brought out to clear Frank Bird?s stranded car.

On the restart, Piastri stormed away from Smolyar, who was left to defend against MP Motorsport’s race one winner Victor Martins.

Piastri continued to extend his advantage before another safety car at the halfway mark put Smolyar on his tail again. Smolyar still couldn?t stay with Piastri when the track turned green with 10 minutes left on the clock, and Piastri took the chequered flag 2.833s ahead.

Smolyar resisted pressure from Martins and rookie class winner Caio Collet, the third of the R-ace GP cars.

M2 Competiton’s Kush Maini was fifth, ahead of Martins’ title-contending team-mate Lorenzo Colombo and Bhaitech’s Petr Ptacek.

The incident that wiped Frank Bird out of the race significantly mixed up the mid-field. Leonardo Lorandi had tried to squeeze up the inside of Amaury Cordeel at the first corner and collided with the MP Motorsport driver. Cordeel span into the path of Arden driver Bird, damaging the rear of his car.

Both Cordel and JD Motorsport’s Lorandi, as well as innocent victim Brad Benavides, made it back to the pits.

The chaos meant JD’s Joao Vieira and M2’s Patrick Schott, who had started 19th and 20th, were now fighting for points. Vieira held on to eighth, but Schott ran into trouble.

He was running in 10th when Global Racing Service’s Xavier Lloveras dived up the inside of the second corner. The resultant collision put Lloveras out of the race, left Schott 15th and caused the second safety car period.

Lucas Alecco Roy (M2) and Alex Karkosik (FA Racing by Drivex) took their first points in ninth and 10th.

Arden’s Alex Quinn qualified fourth but technical problems meant he started the race on lap five. He then failed to finish.


Race results?
Pos Name Team Time
1 Oscar Piastri R-ace GP 17 laps
2 Alexander Smolyar R-ace GP +2.833s
3 Victor Martins MP Motorsport +3.284s
4 Caio Collet R-ace GP +4.623s
5 Kush Maini M2 Competition +8.564s
6 Lorenzo Colombo MP Motorsport +9.044s
7 Petr Ptacek Bhaitech +9.872s
8 Joao Vieira JD Motorsport +10.407s
9 Lucas Alecco Roy M2 Competition +15.423s
10 Alex Karkosik FA Racing by Drivex +15.954s
11 Ugo de Wilde JD Motorsport +16.340s
12 Leonardo Lorandi JD Motorsport +16.695s
13 Patrik Pasma Arden +17.125s
14 Federico Malvestiti Bhaitech +17.713s
15 Patrick Schott M2 Competition +20.356s
16 Brad Benavides FA Racing by Drivex +24.927s
Ret Xavier Lloveras Global Racing Service
Ret Alex Quinn Arden
Ret Amaury Cordeel MP Motorsport
Ret Frank Bird Arden
Fastest lap: Piastri, 1m41.791s

Championship Standings
Piastri 222? ?2 Martins 184.5? ?3 Smolyar 180? ?4 Colombo 155.5? ?5 Collet 140? ?6 Maini 74? ?7 Vieira 59? ?8 de Wilde 58? ?9 Pasma 44? ?10 Lorandi 42.5