Home Z - Archive seriesGP3 Parry leads the way in final GP3 testing day

Parry leads the way in final GP3 testing day

by Gruz David
Photo: Zak Mauger/GP3 Series Media Service.

Photo: Zak Mauger/GP3 Series Media Service.

Koiranen’s sophomore driver Matt Parry set the pace in the second, final pre-season testing day in Valencia.

The Welshman led a trio of ART drivers in the morning session, which started out as wet but dried out by the checkered flag.

He was just a tenth ahead of the fastest?ART driver of Nirei Fukuzumi, the Japanese narrowly edging out Charles Leclerc and Alex Albon.

Yesterday’s pace-setter Artur Janosz fifth as Nyck de Vries brought the final ART car home in sixth.

Oscar Tunjo, recently signed by Jenzer, was seventh with Antonio Fuoco, Alex Palou and Jake Hughes completing the top 10.

Ferrari junior Leclerc was on top of the timesheets in the close afternoon running, where 19 cars were within a second.

The DAMS cars of Hughes, Santino Ferrucci and Kevin Jorg showed strong form in second, fourth and sixth respectively, sandwiching Koiranen’s Parry and Ralph Boschung.

Fukuzumi and Albon were only seventh and eighth this time as Jake Dennis and Konstantin Tereshchenko completed the top 10.

Combines day two?results
Pos. Driver Team AM PM
1 ?Matt Parry Koiranen GP 1:21.476 1:22.195
2 ?Nirei Fukuzumi ART Grand Prix 1:21.560 1:22.500
3 ?Charles Leclerc ART Grand Prix 1:21.564 1:22.089
4 ?Alexander Albon ART Grand Prix 1:21.598 1:22.509
5 ?Artur Janosz Trident 1:21.673 1:22.527
6 ?Nyck de Vries ART Grand Prix 1:21.697 1:22.621
7 ?Oscar Tunjo Jenzer Motorsport 1:21.796 ?No Time
8 ?Antonio Fuoco Trident 1:21.820 1:23.007
9 ?Alex Palou Campos Racing 1:21.989 1:22.833
10 ?Jake Hughes DAMS 1:22.016 1:22.166
11 ?Jack Aitken Arden International 1:22.041 ?No Time
12 ?Matevos Isaakyan Koiranen GP 1:22.056 ?No Time
13 ?Akash Nandy Jenzer Motorsport 1:22.088 1:23.169
14 ?Santino Ferrucci DAMS 1:22.147 1:22.243
15 ?Jake Dennis Arden International 1:22.189 1:22.531
16 ?Kevin Jorg DAMS 1:22.203 1:22.433
17 ?Ralph Boschung Koiranen GP 1:23.466 1:22.366
18 ?Giuliano Alesi Trident 1:22.340 1:22.586
19 ?Sandy Stuvik Trident 1:22.340 1:22.775
20 ?Mahaveer Raghunathan Koiranen GP 1:22.477 ?No Time
21 ?Richard Gonda Jenzer Motorsport 1:22.505 1:22.878
22 ?Tatiana Calderon Arden International 1:22.531 1:22.951
23 ?Konstantin Tereshchenko Campos Racing 1:22.850 1:22.568
24 ?Steijn Schothorst Campos Racing 1:22.847 1:22.725