Home Formula 4British F4 O’Sullivan wins again to tie for British F4 lead into final round

O’Sullivan wins again to tie for British F4 lead into final round

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Zak O’Sullivan will take the British Formula 4 championship lead on countback into the deciding round after taking his eighth win of the season at Snetterton.

He and Luke Browning lie tied on points in the championship standings, but Carlin’s O’Sullivan moves ahead of the Fortec driver on account of having more wins.

It was a faultless race for O’Sullivan, who started on pole and was unchallenged throughout.

Despite setting the fastest lap of the race, Browning couldn’t significantly close the gap to his title rival and finished 3.642 seconds back.

James Hedley won the three-way fight for the final podium position after battling Alex Connor and Casper Stevenson throughout the race. Connor initially put up a good defence against Stevenson, though the two banged wheels at one point and Stevenson fell back behind Hedley.

At first, Hedley’s attack was limited as he fought to keep Stevenson behind him, but he was eventually able to find a way through. Connor held off Stevenson to take fourth.

Abbi Pulling passed Frederick Lubin late in the race to take sixth, though the Arden driver did hold on to the rookie victory.

Reema Juffali, Christian Mansell and Roman Bilinski completed the top 10.

Race results (11 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Zak O’Sullivan Carlin 21m05.166s
2 Luke Browning Fortec Motorsports +3.642s
3 James Hedley JHR Developments +11.164s
4 Alex Connor Arden +13.094s
5 Casper Stevenson Argenti Motorsport +13.425s
6 Abbi Pulling JHR Developments +20.730s
7 Frederick Lubin Arden +21.805s
8 Reema Juffali Argenti Motorsport +25.052s
9 Christian Mansell Carlin +26.680s
10 Roman Bilinski Arden +27.021s
11 Matias Zagazeta Carlin +27.451s
Ret Rafael Villagomez Fortec Motorsports +
Fastest lap: Browning, 1m53.737s

Championship standings
1 O’Sullivan 369   2 Browning 369   3 Stevenson 319   4 Hedley 243   5 Connor 239   6 Pulling 166   7 Bilinski 145   8 Mansell 124   9 Roberto Faria 99   10 Lubin 90