Home Formula 4British F4 O’Sullivan back on top in British F4 Knockhill reversed-grid race

O’Sullivan back on top in British F4 Knockhill reversed-grid race

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Zak O’Sullivan denied Luke Browning a fifth straight British Formula 4 victory as he won the reverse grid race at Knockhill.

O’Sullivan was promoted into the race lead after Roman Bilinski and Abbi Pulling came together on the opening lap. Bilinski was able to continue, having dropped behind O’Sullivan, but Pulling’s JHR Developments run car was beached and the safety car was brought out.

On the restart Bilinski immedietly came under pressure from Luke Browning, who had jumped up to third from sixth on the grid on the opening lap. Browning swept past him to take the position but didn’t have the pace to keep up with O’Sullivan.

O’Sullivan set the fastest lap of the race, another new track record, on his way to his fourth win of the season, 3.415s ahead of Browning.

Alex Connor picked off Bilinski to take third before Casper Stevenson made his way past when Bilinski made a small mistake in the closing stages of the race.

Stevenson spent much of the race on the tail of Roberto Faria, who is still chasing his first win of the season. Faria defended well and was closing onto the gap of Bilinski when he span. His car came to rest in the infield and was covered with waved yellow flags so racing could resume.

James Hedley enjoyed a good climb up through the order from the back of the grid and had made his way up to what was then eighth by the final five minutes of the race.

Christian Mansell ahead put in a good defence, managing to hold onto his position even when Hedley forced him to take the outside line, but the Carlin driver couldn’t keep him back for the entire race and Hedley came through to take sixth.

Mansell in seventh was the best-placed rookie, finishing three seconds ahead of team-mate Rafael Villagomez. Nathaneal Hodgkiss and Matias Zagazeta completed the top 10.


Race results (22 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Zak O’Sullivan Carlin 20m16.422s
2 Luke Browning Fortec Motorsports +3.415s
3 Alex Connor Arden +6.806s
4 Casper Stevenson Argenti Motorsport +9.569s
5 Roman Bilinski Arden +11.421s
6 James Hedley JHR Developments +13.514s
7 Christian Mansell Carlin +15.606s
8 Rafael Villagomez Fortec Motorsports +18.715s
9 Nathanel Hodgkiss JHR Developments +26.758s
10 Matias Zagazeta Carlin +26.910s
11 Frederick Lubin Arden +32.975s
12 Reema Juffali Argenti Motorsport +33.566s
13 Nico Pino Argenti Motorsport +33.823s
Ret Roberto Faria Fortec Motorsports
Ret Abbi Pulling JHR Developments
Fastest lap: O’Sullivan, 49.380s

Championship standings
1 Browning 202   2 O’Sullivan 174   3 Connor 122   4 Stevenson 114   5 Faria 91   6 Hedley 91   7 Bilinski 81   8 Mansell 71   9 Pulling 63   10 Villagomez 33