Home Formula RegionalFRegional Oceania Orudzhev wins hectic Teretonga opener

Orudzhev wins hectic Teretonga opener

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: Toyota Racing Series

Photo: Toyota Racing Series

M2 Competition’s Egor Orudzhev took victory in the first race of the 2014 Toyota Racing Series season at Teretonga, having started from sixth on the grid.

Poleman Steijn Schothorst kept the lead during the opening lap, with fellow front row starter Damon Leitch holding onto second. As Orudzhev moved up the grid, eventually passing Jordan Oon for third, the Victory driver ahead of him was ruled out of the race with a broken rear wing.

While Schothorst managed to build up a gap to his rivals over the early laps, it was all for naught when the safety car came out on lap seven. During the subsequent restart, the Dutchman’s car developed a misfire and he slipped way down the order, as his Russian teammate took over in first.

From that point on, Orudzhev kept Estonian Martin Rump at bay until the race was red-flagged with two laps to go, which gave the M2 racer his maiden victory in single-seaters. Oon completed the podium, ahead of best-placed local racer Michael Scott and Denis Korneev.

Jann Mardenborough took sixth, while Andrew Tang was promoted to seventh after Levin Amweg was given a post-race penalty. Matevos Isaakyan took eighth, as Matteo Ferrer and Neil Alberico inherited ninth and tenth respectively due to Martin Kodric having brought out the red flag and being classified as a non-finisher.

The grid for the second race will be decided by a draw that determines the reversal of either the top four, six or eight finishers from race one. For the final race of the round, Orudzhev will lead Leitch from pole.

Session results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Egor Orudzhev M2 Competition 12 laps in 13:04.353
2 Martin Rump Giles Motorsport +0.587
3 Jordan Oon ETEC Motorsport +2.568
4 Michael Scott Victory Motor Racing +2.757
5 Denis Korneev ETEC Motorsport +4.006
6 Jann Mardenborough Giles Motorsport +4.182
7 Andrew Tang Neale Motorsport +6.201
8 Matevos Isaakyan ETEC Motorsport +6.781
9 Matteo Ferrer Giles Motorsport +7.536
10 Neil Alberico Victory Motor Racing +8.181
11 James Munro Neale Motorsport +8.252
12 Gustavo Lima M2 Competition +8.512
13 Brendon Leitch Victory Motor Racing +9.029
14 Matt Rao Giles Motorsport +9.820
15 Pedro Piquet M2 Competition +10.399
16 Robin Hansson Victory Motor Racing +11.510
17 Macauley Jones M2 Competition +11.748
18 Steijn Schothorst M2 Competition +19.023
19 Ryan Tveter Giles Motorsport +20.641
20 Levin Amweg M2 Competition +54.928*
DNF Martin Kodric ETEC Motorsport
Not classified
Damon Leitch Victory Motor Racing +6 laps
Alif Hamdan Giles Motorsport +7 laps

* Levin Amweg was given a 50-second post-race penalty for a driving standards infringement