Home Formula RegionalFRegional Oceania Orudzhev quickest in Friday practice at Teretonga

Orudzhev quickest in Friday practice at Teretonga

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: Toyota Racing Series

Photo: Toyota Racing Series

Russian racer Egor Orudzhev posted the quickest time of the second day of practice ahead of the Toyota Racing Series opener at Teretonga.

Orudzhev and Martin Rump were the main players in fighting for the top of the timesheets in the first session and, with numerous late improvements from both drivers after early red flags, it was the Russian who took the honours. With Rump second, Levin Amweg was third ahead of Andrew Tang and Steijn Schothorst.

Pedro Piquet continued progressing on his debut round of single-seaters, taking an impressive sixth, with the ETEC pair of Jordan Oon and Matevos Isaakyan in seventh and eighth. Victory’s Michael Scott took ninth, making it five teams in the top ten, ahead of Denis Korneev in tenth.

Session two saw a drying track and it was American Ryan Tveter who topped the leaderboards, narrowly besting the Russian duo of Orudzhev and Isaakyan. Schothorst and Tang were again in the top five, ahead of Damon Leitch, Oon and Piquet, while Gustavo Lima and Jann Mardenborough rounded out the top ten.

The track was full-on wet for session three, which proved ideal for sophomore racer Schothorst, who led Lima and Martin Kodric in the top three. Orudzhev was four tenths off in fourth, with Mardenborough in fifth and James Munro in sixth. Neil Alberico took seventh, with the top ten made up by Rump, Robin Hansson and Korneev.

Session results
Pos. Driver Team S1 S2 S3
1 Egor Orudzhev M2 Competition 55.005 55.804 1:00.748
2 Martin Rump Giles Motorsport 55.044 56.757 1:01.158
3 Levin Amweg M2 Competition 55.329 58.299 1:02.758
4 Andrew Tang Neale Motorsport 55.565 56.237 1:02.697
5 Steijn Schothorst M2 Competition 55.581 56.012 1:00.318
6 Pedro Piquet M2 Competition 55.636 56.503 1:02.123
7 Jordan Oon ETEC Motorsport 55.639 56.350 1:02.189
8 Matevos Isaakyan ETEC Motorsport 55.684 55.857 1:01.588
9 Ryan Tveter Giles Motorsport 55.977 55.777 1:02.271
10 Michael Scott Victory Motor Racing 55.834 56.673 1:02.138
11 Denis Korneev ETEC Motorsport 55.885 59.752 1:01.431
12 Damon Leitch Victory Motor Racing 55.951 56.247 1:01.626
13 Macauley Jones M2 Competition 55.976 56.988 1:02.516
14 Robin Hansson Victory Motor Racing 55.999 57.089 1:01.262
15 Matteo Ferrer Giles Motorsport 56.049 59.936 1:01.277
16 Matt Rao Giles Motorsport 56.155 57.157 1:01.910
17 Brandon Leitch Victory Motor Racing 56.159 56.744 1:04.031
18 James Munro Neale Motorsport 56.170 57.267 1:00.952
19 Martin Kodric ETEC Motorsport 56.241 59.910 1:00.442
20 Gustavo Lima M2 Competition 56.550 56.517 1:00.422
21 Jann Mardenborough Giles Motorsport 57.460 56.525 1:00.785
22 Neil Alberico Victory Motor Racing 56.537 56.534 1:01.022
23 Alif Hamdan Giles Motorsport 56.811 59.318 1:03.409

Personal best time in bold
Best time of session in italics