Home Z - Archive seriesFIA European F3 Ocon claims debut FIA F3 victory in Prema 1-2-3 in race two

Ocon claims debut FIA F3 victory in Prema 1-2-3 in race two

by Peter Allen
Esteban Ocon

Photo: FIA F3 European Championship

Esteban Ocon led from start to finish as he secured victory in race two on his debut weekend in the FIA F3 European Championship at Silverstone.

After starting from pole position, the Lotus F1 Junior quickly opened up a gap of three seconds over his Prema team-mate Nicholas Latifi and managed the gap until the finish.

Ocon’s fellow Formula Renault 2.0 graduate Antonio Fuoco got the jump on race one winner Tom Blomqvist at the start to move into a third, and the Ferrari protege completed a podium lockout for Prema behind first-time rostrum visitor Latifi.

Blomqvist came under pressure from fellow Carlin driver Jordan King at one stage but was able to escape when King fell into the clutches of Max Verstappen.

The 16-year-old Dutchman lost positions to Ed Jones and Dennis van de Laar at the start but quickly recovered those places before going on to put a move on King for fifth with two laps left.

Jones took seventh ahead of Antonio Giovinazzi and van de Laar, while John Bryant-Meisner took tenth for Fortec.

Race results
Pos Driver? Team Time/Gap
1 Esteban Ocon Prema Powerteam 18 laps in 33:53.215
2 Nicholas Latifi Prema Powerteam +3.678
3 Antonio Fuoco Prema Powerteam +5.148
4 Tom Blomqvist Jagonya Ayam with Carlin +9.264
5 Max Verstappen Van Amersfoort Racing +11.237
6 Jordan King Carlin +11.914
7 Ed Jones Carlin +19.293
8 Antonio Giovinazzi Jagonya Ayam with Carlin +20.649
9 Dennis van de Laar Prema Powerteam +21.877
10 John Bryant-Meisner Fortec Motorsports +23.533
11 Felipe Guimar?es Double R Racing +24.078
12 Lucas Auer Mucke Motorsport +24.548
13 Gustavo Menezes Van Amersfoort Racing +30.106
14 Felix Rosenqvist Mucke Motorsport +31.293
15 Felix Serralles Team West-Tec +32.009
16 Mitchell Gilbert Fortec Motorsports +32.766
17 Jake Dennis Carlin +33.362
18 Tatiana Calderon Jo Zeller Racing +40.060
19 Alexander Toril ThreeBond with T-Sport +46.004
20 Sean Gelael Jagonya Ayam with Carlin +48.528
21 Michele Beretta EuroInternational +49.158
22 Roy Nissany Mucke Motorsport +1:01.985
23 Riccardo Agostini EuroInternational +1:02.208
24 Jules Szymkowiak Van Amersfoort Racing +1:03.172
Not classified
Hector Hurst Team West-Tec + 3 laps
Richard Goddard ThreeBond with T-Sport + 16 laps