Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup Nyck de Vries takes first pole of Eurocup season at Aragon

Nyck de Vries takes first pole of Eurocup season at Aragon

by Ant Musker
Photo: Gregory Lenormand / DPPI / Renault Sport Media

Photo: Gregory Lenormand / DPPI / Renault Sport Media

Eurocup Formula Renault championship favourite Nyck de Vries achieved the first pole position of the season for the opening race at Aragon.

The McLaren supported driver confidently led the Group B qualifying session with the fastest time of 1:55.474 and will be joined on the front row by Aurelien Panis, who pulled off a late upset to top the Group A rankings.

Tech 1 lead driver Egor Orudzhev will start in third alongside another pre-season contender Bruno Bonifacio, while Alexander Albon will head row three on the grid, leading the efforts of Belgian squad KTR.

JKR duo of Gustav Malja and Kevin Jorg matched their early expectations of a much-improved sophomore year of Eurocup racing, taking sixth and seventh on the grid respectively, while rookies Callan O’Keeffe of ART Junior Team, Matevos Isaakyan of JD Motorsport and Matthew Graham of AVF impressively round off the top ten.

Andrea Pizzitola originally set the second-best time in Group A, but had all of his times disallowed due to insufficient fuel.

Session results
Pos. Driver Team Group A Group B
1 Nyck de Vries Koiranen GP 1:55.474
2 Aurelien Panis ART Junior Team 1:56.127
3 Egor Orudzhev Tech 1 Racing 1:55.601
4 Bruno Bonifacio Prema Powerteam 1:56.179
5 Alexander Albon KTR 1:55.939
6 Gustav Malja Josef Kaufmann Racing 1:56.320
7 Kevin Jorg Josef Kaufmann Racing 1:56.051
8 Callan O’Keeffe ART Junior Team 1:56.371
9 Matevos Isaakyan JD Motorsport 1:56.077
10 Matthew Graham AVF 1:56.440
11 Anthoine Hubert Tech 1 Racing 1:56.252
12 Ignazio D’Agosto Koiranen GP 1:56.567
13 Matt Parry Fortec Motorsports 1:56.319
14 Simon Gachet ARTA Engineering 1:56.579
15 Nick Cassidy Koiranen GP 1:56.473
16 Ryan Tveter Josef Kaufmann Racing 1:56.664
17 Steijn Schothorst Manor MP Motorsport 1:56.533
18 Dennis Olsen Prema Powerteam 1:56.684
19 Levin Amweg ART Junior Team 1:56.584
20 Gregor Ramsay KTR 1:57.236
21 Hans Villemi Prema Powerteam 1:56.746
22 Roy Geerts AVF 1:57.409
23 Luke Chudleigh Tech 1 Racing 1:56.813
24 James Allen ARTA Engineering 1:57.485
25 Jules Gounon KTR 1:57.160
26 Vasily Romanov Tech 1 Racing 1:57.521
27 Martin Rump Fortec Motorsports 1:57.440
28 Denis Korneev JD Motorsport 1:57.676
29 Inigo Bikuna AVF 1:58.768
30 Jack Aitken Fortec Motorsports 2:03.308
31 Andrea Pizzitola Manor MP Motorsport No Time