Home Featured Nyck de Vries leads first day of F2 pre-season testing at Jerez

Nyck de Vries leads first day of F2 pre-season testing at Jerez

by Peter Allen
De Vries

Photo: Joe Portlock / FIA F2 Championship

Nyck de Vries topped both the morning and afternoon running as Formula 2 pre-season testing got underway at Jerez on Tuesday.

De Vries, who has joined ART Grand Prix for 2019, topped the morning session with a time of 1m25.819s, 0.055s ahead of DAMS driver Sergio Sette Camara.

First place changed hands a number of times during the afternoon, but de Vries made it his with a 1m25.358s in the final 15 minutes.

The other DAMS driver Nicholas Latifi was second fastest, 0.369s away, while Mick Schumacher was the top rookie for Prema in third, only 0.056s further back.

Luca Ghiotto was fourth fastest in both sessions for Virtuosi, and fifth overall behind Sette Camara.

Louis Deletraz was fifth in the morning for Carlin ahead of Schumacher, Guanyu Zhou (Virtuosi) and Dorian Boccolacci, who is testing for Campos.?Callum Ilott came ninth for the Charouz-run Sauber Junior Team with Sean Gelael 10th for Prema.

Nikita Mazepin, de Vries’ rookie team-mate at ART, placed fifth in the afternoon – good enough to put him seventh overall behind Deletraz.

Combined day one times
Pos Driver Team Morning Afternoon
1 Nyck de Vries ART Grand Prix 1:25.819 1:25.358
2 Nicholas Latifi DAMS 1:25.964 1:25.727
3 Mick Schumacher Prema 1:26.326 1:25.783
4 Sergio Sette Cam?ra DAMS 1:25.874 1:26.579
5 Luca Ghiotto Virtuosi 1:26.082 1:25.887
6 Louis Del?traz Carlin 1:26.217 1:26.512
7 Nikita Mazepin ART Grand Prix 1:26.910 1:26.230
8 Guanyu Zhou Virtuosi 1:26.349 1:26.593
9 Dorian Boccolacci Campos Racing 1:26.430 1:28.903
10 Callum Ilott Sauber Junior Team by Charouz 1:26.508 1:26.573
11 Giuliano Alesi Trident 1:26.744 1:26.577
12 Sean Gelael Prema 1:26.614 1:26.733
13 Nobuharu Matsushita Carlin 1:27.167 1:26.625
14 Richard Verschoor MP Motorsport 1:26.657 1:27.102
15 Juan Manuel Correa Sauber Junior Team by Charouz 1:26.742 1:26.882
16 Jordan King MP Motorsport 1:26.869 1:27.317
17 Anthoine Hubert Arden 1:26.908 1:27.551
18 Jack Aitken Campos Racing 1:27.027 1:27.227
19 Ralph Boschung Trident 1:27.244 1:27.076
20 Tatiana Calderon Arden No time 1:28.515