Home Formula 4British F4 Norris provisionally loses second win from MSA Formula opener

Norris provisionally loses second win from MSA Formula opener

by Peter Allen
MSA Formula

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Lando Norris has provisionally lost his win from the final race of the opening MSA Formula round at Brands Hatch last weekend, pending the outcome of an appeal from his Carlin team.

Norris was excluded from race three for infringing yellow flag rules by allegedly passing another car during a safety car period.

James Pull is now the race winner in the provisional amended classification published on Tuesday, with stewards to meet at the second round at Donington Park next weekend to consider Carlin’s appeal of the exclusion.

The incident likely refers to the first of two cautions in the race, thrown for an incident on lap one. Having started on pole position, Norris crossed the line in third place at the end of the first lap behind Pull and Matheus Leist.

The next time around, still under the safety car, Norris was clocked ahead of Leist in second place. The world karting champion went on to pass Pull – who is part of the same ADD Motorsports management stable – for the victory later in the race.

The exclusion changes the provisional championship standings, with Norris losing 25 points and dropping from first to fifth. Dan Ticktum inherits a five-point lead ahead of Pull and Collard tied for second and Leist in fourth.

Provisional amended race results
Pos Driver? Team Time/Gap
1 James Pull JTR 23 laps in 20:16.334
2 Matheus Leist Double R Racing +0.463
3 Jack Barlow MBM Motorsport +0.992
4 Daniel Ticktum Fortec Motorsports +1.711
5 Ricky Collard Arden +2.212
6 Enaam Ahmed Arden +2.652
7 Dan Baybutt JTR +2.960
8 Rafael Martins SWB Motorsport +4.483
9 Sennan Fielding JHR Developments +7.556
10 Petru Florescu Carlin +13.127
11 Sandy Mitchell Arden +13.761
12 Darius Karbaley Falcon Motorsport +30.073
13 Colton Herta Carlin +1 lap
14 Josh Smith Fortec Motorsports +1 lap
Not classified
Tarun Reddy Double R Racing +8 laps
Louise Richardson Richardson Racing +13 laps
Jack Butel SWB Motorsport +16 laps
Gustavo Myasava Double R Racing +23 laps
DSQ Lando Norris Carlin