Home Formula RegionalFRegional Oceania Norris extends TRS championship lead with race one victory

Norris extends TRS championship lead with race one victory

by Gruz David
Photo: Toyota Racing Series

Photo: Toyota Racing Series

British racer Lando Norris scored his fourth Toyota Racing Series victory at Taupo, winning closely ahead of Pedro Piquet.

Having kicked off the race from the front row, the M2 Competition duo quickly pulled away from the rest of the field, led by James Munro.

Although the gap between Norris and Piquet was never bigger than a second, there was no change in the order.

Munro secured his second straight podium finish in third, followed by Ferrari protege Guan Yu Zhou and Force India’s Jehan Daruvala.

Ferdinand Habsburg and Brendon Leitch took sixth and eighth respectively, both finishing one place higher than their starting positions, thanks to Artem Markelov dropping down the order at the start.

Canadian Devlin DeFrancesco secured eighth after an early overtake on Taylor Cockerton, while the top ten was completed by Bruno Baptista.

After his victory, Norris extended his championship lead over Piquet to 60 points.