Home Formula 3GB3 Moore posts best time on BRDC F4 pre-season test day at Snetterton

Moore posts best time on BRDC F4 pre-season test day at Snetterton

by Peter Allen
Struan Moore

Photo: BRDC F4

Struan Moore set the fastest time on the BRDC F4 Championship’s official pre-season test day at Snetterton on Wednesday.

Moore, who made the move from Hillspeed to inaugural champions Lanan Racing over the winter, set a time of 1m50.549s in the morning session.

“We’re looking really strong going into the first round, we’re at the front and that’s where we want to be,” said Moore, who finished ninth in the 2013 standings. “The team have done a great job, I’m feeling very confident and very comfortable going to the first round and I’m hoping to achieve the best we can after all the work we have done. We’re the best prepared we can be.

“I think we’re going to be up there at Silverstone, I can’t see any reason now why we can’t be right at the front. As a driver I have to do my part now, getting qualifying right is really important and then that will leave us in great shape for the races.”

Raoul Hyman, who is the highest returning driver after finishing seventh in 2013, fell just 0.006s shy of Moore’s benchmark when he topped the afternoon session.

Sennan Fielding, who has joined Hyman at HHC Motorsport for 2014, was third quickest with the top four completed by the second Lanan car of Indian rookie Arjun Maini.

ADAC Formel Masters convert Nicolas Beer took fifth for SWR ahead of the final HHC entry of Will Palmer. Mexican Diego Menchaca took seventh for his new team Douglas Motorsport ahead of SWR’s Jordan Albert, with the top ten completed by Hillspeed recruit Gustavo Lima and Douglas signing Charlie Eastwood.

17 drivers took part in the test, with the remaining four drivers signed-up (George Russell, Rahul Raj Mayer, Falco Wauer and Dan Roeper) all missing due to other commitments.

Pos Driver Team Session 1 Session 2
1 Struan Moore Lanan Racing 1:50.549 1:50.622
2 Raoul Hyman HHC Motorsport 1:50.910 1:50.555
3 Sennan Fielding HHC Motorsport 1:50.805 1:51.397
4 Arjun Maini Lanan Racing 1:50.959 1:50.882
5 Nicolas Beer Sean Walkinshaw Racing 1:51.378 1:50.937
6 Will Palmer HHC Motorsport 1:50.955 1:51.424
7 Diego Menchaca Douglas Motorsport 1:51.016 1:51.013
8 Jordan Albert Sean Walkinshaw Racing 1:51.271 1:51.475
9 Gustavo Lima Hillspeed 1:51.424 1:51.820
10 Charlie Eastwood Douglas Motorsport 1:51.478 1:51.576
11 Chris Middlehurst MGR 1:51.986 1:52.450
12 David Wagner MGR 1:52.434 1:51.998
13 Rodrigo Fonseca Douglas Motorsport 1:52.386 1:52.212
14 Diego Borrelli Sean Walkinshaw Racing 1:52.463 1:52.677
15 Gaetano Di Mauro PetroBall Racing 1:52.994 1:52.843
16 Tom Jackson Chris Dittmann Racing 1:52.960 1:52.996
17 Alfredo Zabalza Hillspeed 1:53.572 1:54.603