Home Formula FordNational FF1600 Middlehurst holds Esterson again at Anglesey to aid FF1600 title hopes

Middlehurst holds Esterson again at Anglesey to aid FF1600 title hopes

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: BRSCC

Chris Middlehurst took his second BRSCC National Formula Ford 1600 victory of the weekend at Anglesey after another close battle with Max Esterson.

The Team Dolan driver finished 0.228 seconds ahead of Low Dempsey Racing’s Esterson, with Kevin Mills Racing’s Alex Walker finishing a further second behind.

Middlehurst led away from pole ahead of Esterson, while Walker passed B-M Racing’s Jamie Sharp and Jack Wolfenden on the opening lap to move into third.

The front two continued their battle from Saturday’s opener, with Middlehurst fending off Esterston for the first four laps.

Esterson managed to get by the next lap with a move up in the inside at Peel corner, but Middlehurst wrestled the lead back a few corners later at Rocket. This allowed Walker to close in and make it a three-way lead battle.

The positions remained the same until the finish, with Middlehurst holding on to take his fourth win of the season and move closer to points leader Esterson after being on a continous recovery in the standings since a tricky season opener.

Sharp passed Wolfenden during the race to take fourth, the pair separated by 0.2s at the chequered flag. Wolfenden again took the spoils in the BRSCC Northern FF1600 championship class.

LDR’s Colin Queen recovered from 11th on the grid to finish sixth ahead of KMR’s Megan Gilkes, who started and finished seventh, having had her penalty for jumping the staer in Saturday’s race rescinded.

KMR team-mates Lukas Romanek and Thomas Mills were eighth and ninth, the latter having started from the back of the grid. LDR’s Andre Lafond finished 10th.

Oldfield Motorsport’s Carter Williams retired after a collision with a Northern competitor on the opening lap while trying to climb from the back of the field.

Race results (10 laps) [BRSCC Northern drivers in italics]

Pos Driver Team Time
1 Chris Middlehurst Team Dolan 15m55.066s
2 Max Esterson Low Dempsey Racing +0.228s
3 Alex Walker Kevin Mills Racing +1.341s
4 Jamie Sharp B-M Racing +4.574s
5 Jack Wolfenden unknown +4.779s
6 Colin Queen Low Dempsey Racing +7.141s
7 Megan Gilkes Kevin Mills Racing +9.877s
8 Lucas Romanek Kevin Mills Racing +11.093s
9 Thomas Mills Kevin Mills Racing +14.070s
10 Andre Lafond Low Dempsey Racing +14.309s
11 Callum Grant Nigel Grant Motorsport +16.176s
12 Benjamin Cochran Team Dolan +24.077s
13 Garath Buckingham Souley Motorsport +38.108s
14 Neil McArthur B-M Racing +44.212s
15 Paul Mason Swift Cooper +46.579s
16 Juiceie Bruceie unknown +52.825s
17 Paul Barnes Souley Motorsport +1m02.445s
18 Paul Tucker Tucker Motorsport +1m03.542s
19 Richard Ketterman Black Dog Racing +1m07.521s
20 Stuart Dix unknown +1m07.818s
21 Jonathan Barnes unknown +1m21.102s
22 John Murphy unknown +1 lap
Ret Nick Barnes Swift Cooper +1 lap
Ret Carter Williams Oldfield Motorsport
Fastest lap: Esterson, 1m34.463s