Home Featured Mick Schumacher extends European F3 pole run at Red Bull Ring

Mick Schumacher extends European F3 pole run at Red Bull Ring

by Ida Wood

Mick Schumacher took his fifth pole of the season in qualifying for the first European Formula 3 race at the Nurburgring, leading a Prema top three lockout.

Prema and Motopark were the top two teams from free practice, and that pace continued with Jonathan Aberdein and Sebastian Fernandez leading the way for Motopark early on. Carlin’s Jehan Daruvala also got involved at the top, but it wasn’t long before Schumacher was setting the benchmark.

His best went unbeaten in the closing minutes of the session, with team-mate Robert Shwartzman coming closest 0.247 seconds behind. The third Prema car of Marcus Armstrong was only marginally further back, with Daruvala taking Carlin’s best qualifying performance since Silverstone in fourth.

Juri Vips ended up being the lead Motopark driver in fifth, with 0.023s covering himself and team-mates Dan Ticktum and Aberdein.

Enaam Ahmed was eighth for Hitech GP, over half a second off the pace, with Fabio Scherer (Motopark) and Ralf Aron (Prema) completing the top 10.

Fernandez ended up down in 16th, just over two tenths slower than eighth placed Ahmed, while Julian Hanses was only 1.230s off pole in 22nd on his championship return with Carlin.


Qualifying results
Pos Name Team Time
1 Mick Schumacher Prema 1m23.640s
2 Robert Shwartzman Prema +0.247s
3 Marcus Armstrong Prema +0.286s
4 Jehan Daruvala Carlin +0.347s
5 Juri Vips Motopark +0.472s
6 Dan Ticktum Motopark +0.476s
7 Jonathan Aberdein Motopark +0.495s
8 Enaam Ahmed Hitech GP +0.538s
9 Fabio Scherer Motopark +0.595s
10 Ralf Aron Prema +0.613s
11 Guan Yu Zhou Prema +0.639s
12 Ferdinand Habsburg Carlin +0.649s
13 Sacha Fenestraz Carlin +0.653s
14 Alex Palou Hitech GP +0.673s
15 Marino Sato Motopark +0.738s
16 Sebastian Fernandez Motopark +0.740s
17 Nikita Troitskiy Carlin +0.802s
18 Sophia Floersch Van Amersfoort Racing +0.846s
19 Keyvan Andres Van Amersfoort Racing +0.904s
20 Ben Hingeley Hitech GP +0.908s
21 Artem Petrov Van Amersfoort Racing +1.114s
22 Julian Hanses Carlin +1.230s
23 Ameya Vaidyanathan Carlin +1.870s