Home Z - Archive seriesFIA European F3 Marciello strolls to race one victory at Nurburgring

Marciello strolls to race one victory at Nurburgring

by Valentin Khorounzhiy

Photo: FIA Formula 3 European Championship / Thomas Suer

Ferrari protege Raffaele Marciello had little trouble winning the first race of the Nurburgring round of European F3 as he led every lap from pole position, never coming under much pressure.

Marciello made a good launch off the grid, managing to prevent Brit Alexander Sims from attempting an overtake. From that point on, the Italian simply had the pace on the rest of the field and started pulling away, eventually taking his advantage to 6s at the checkered flag.

Sims picked up T-Sport’s first podium of the year in second place, with Felix Rosenqvist keeping Jordan King at bay to take third. Lucas Auer found himself behind Pipo Derani for fifth on the first lap, but soon was back ahead, finishing in position, with the Brazilian right behind him in sixth.

Michael Lewis bagged his best finish of the year in seventh, finishing ahead of Felix Serralles, guest driver Daniil Kvyat and local hero Sven Muller. Harry Tincknell picked up the final point.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Raffaele Marciello Prema Powerteam 25 laps in 34:39.637
2 Alexander Sims ThreeBond/T-Sport +6.147
3 Felix Rosenqvist Mucke Motorsport +7.604
4 Jordan King Carlin +7.981
5 Lucas Auer Prema Powerteam +14.591
6 Pipo Derani Fortec +14.920
7 Michael Lewis Mucke Motorsport +15.766
8 Felix Serralles Fortec +25.156
9 Daniil Kvyat Carlin +25.633
10 Sven Muller ma-con +27.379
11 Harry Tincknell Carlin +28.202
12 Mitchell Gilbert Mucke Motorsport +29.448
13 Tom Blomqvist EuroInternational +30.465
14 Alex Lynn Prema Powerteam +31.200
15 Jann Mardenborough Carlin +33.067
16 Eddie Cheever Prema Powerteam +34.944
17 Roy Nissany Mucke Motorsport +36.519
18 Antonio Giovinazzi Double R Racing +37.516
19 Nicholas Latifi Carlin +39.530
20 Sean Gelael Double R Racing +48.937
21 Spike Goddard ThreeBond/T-Sport +49.377
22 Tatiana Calderon Double R Racing +53.699
23 Dennis van de Laar Van Amersfoort +59.496
24 Sandro Zeller Jo Zeller Racing +1:05.442
25 Andre Rudersdorf ma-con +1 lap
Not classified
DSQ Lucas Wolf +12 laps