Home Z - Archive seriesFIA European F3 Marciello storms to victory in opening race at Monza

Marciello storms to victory in opening race at Monza

by Valentin Khorounzhiy

Photo: FIA F3

Raffaele Marciello emerged victorious in the first race of the 2013 F3 European Championship season at Monza, escaping unscathed in an incident-packed race.

Pascal Wehrlein, who is set to become the youngest driver in DTM history this year, started the race from pole, but both he and fellow front row starter Lucas Auer were beaten into turn one by Marciello, who held the lead for the remainder of the race.

Wehrlein initially kept second, but was passed by Auer in the latter stages of the race, only finishing third in the end.

Outside of the podium, Will Buller and Harry Tincknell entertained the audiences with a race-long fight for fourth, with Buller emerging on top in the final laps.

Fortec’s Felix Serralles and Carlin’s Jordan King switched positions several times for sixth with the Puerto Rican prevailing in the fight. The other two Prema drivers besides Marciello and Auer – Alex Lynn and Eddie Cheever, Jr. – finished in the top ten, with Dennis van de Laar taking ninth between them.

It was a very mistake-heavy race that saw multiple people retire. Roy Nissany and Mans Grenhagen were forced to call it a day after some turmoil on lap one, while Tom Blomqvist took Felix Rosenqvist out of the race while fighting for fifth and received a drive through.

The same outcome awaited Antonio Giovinazzi, who spun Sven Muller on the last lap and ended up retiring, while a major toss-up for tenth saw Lucas Wolf make contact with Jann Mardenborough, ending the race for both.

Races two and three will take place on Sunday with Wehrlein and Marciello on pole.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap Laps
1 Raffaele Marciello Prema Powerteam 33:27.878 19
2 Lucas Auer Prema Powerteam +2.079 19
3 Pascal Wehrlein Mucke Motorsport +5.200 19
4 Will Buller ThreeBond/T-Sport +13.956 19
5 Harry Tincknell Carlin +15.855 19
6 Felix Serralles Fortec +23.933 19
7 Jordan King Carlin +24.316 19
8 Alex Lynn Prema Powerteam +27.867 19
9 Dennis van de Laar Van Amersfoort +34.768 19
10 Eddie Cheever, Jr. Prema Powerteam +35.304 19
11 Pipo Derani Fortec +36.399 19
12 Sven Muller ma-con +45.153 19
13 Tom Blomqvist EuroInternational +55.303 19
14 Sean Gelael Double R Racing +56.183 19
15 Spike Goddard ThreeBond/T-Sport +56.694 19
16 Nicholas Latifi Carlin +57.796 19
17 Dmitry Suranovich Fortec +59.794 19
18 Sandro Zeller Jo Zeller Racing +1:00.737 19
19 Tatiana Calderon Double R Racing +1:04.155 19
20 Andre Rudersdorf ma-con +1:31.679 19
21 Michela Cerruti Romeo Ferraris +1:33.147 19
22 Antonio Giovinazzi Double R Racing +1 lap 18
23 Josh Hill Fortec +1 lap 18
24 Gary Thompson Romeo Ferraris +1 lap 18
25 Mitchell Gilbert Mucke Motorsport +3 laps 16
26 Jann Mardenborough Carlin +3 laps 16
27 Lucas Wolf URD Rennsport +3 laps 16
28 Felix Rosenqvist Mucke Motorsport +9 laps 10
29 Mans Grenhagen Van Amersfoort +19 laps 0
30 Roy Nissany Mucke Motorsport +19 laps 0