Home Z - Archive seriesFIA European F3 Marciello and Sims quickest over Wednesday testing at Hockenheim

Marciello and Sims quickest over Wednesday testing at Hockenheim

by Valentin Khorounzhiy

Photo: FIA Formula 3 European Championship / Thomas Suer

Briton Alexander Sims posted the quickest time of the day of European F3 testing at Hockenheim, putting in the best lap of the afternoon session, while, in the morning, it was championship leader Raffaele Marciello who topped the timesheets.

As expected, the first day of testing was heavily affected by weather conditions, with the morning session run almost entirely in wet conditions. After the early lap stints, Tom Blomqvist was the man on top of the leaderboards, but he would later be dethroned by Sims. With an hour to go, yet another British driver – Jordan King – took over at the top, but shortly he was beaten by championship leader Marciello, who ended the session quickest.

King remained in second, ahead of Sims and Van Amersfoort’s new driver Sven Muller. Blomqvist took fifth, with Felix Serralles recording the sixth fastest lap.

A late effort from Dennis van de Laar took the Dutchman to P7, while Carlin trio of Daniil Kvyat, Jann Mardenborough and Harry Tincknell rounded out the top ten.

The track dried up in time for the afternoon session, leading to a huge increase in pace. Ferrari protege Marciello looked set to stay at the top of the testing over the second run, but he would then be dethroned by Sims, whose time remained unbeaten until the end of the day of testing.

Marciello remained in second, narrowly besting Muller, with King rounding out the top four. Serralles was fifth, with Lucas Auer in sixth, as Mardenborough and van de Laar rounded out the top eight. Nicholas Latifi and Eddie Cheever were ninth and tenth respectively.

Combined session results
Pos. Driver Team Session 1 Session 2
1 Alexander Sims ThreeBond/T-Sport 1:49.001 1:33.872
2 Raffaele Marciello Prema Powerteam 1:48.876 1:33.980
3 Sven Muller Van Amersfoort 1:49.321 1:33.998
4 Jordan King Carlin 1:48.992 1:34.037
5 Felix Serralles Fortec 1:49.422 1:34.219
6 Lucas Auer Prema Powerteam 1:50.848 1:34.235
7 Jann Mardenborough Carlin 1:49.977 1:34.243
8 Dennis van de Laar Van Amersfoort 1:49.796 1:34.263
9 Nicholas Latifi Carlin 1:51.783 1:34.294
10 Eddie Cheever Prema Powerteam 1:50.416 1:34.354
11 Daniil Kvyat Carlin 1:49.948 1:34.393
12 Alex Lynn Prema Powerteam 1:50.380 1:34.471
13 John Bryant-Meisner Fortec 1:50.985 1:34.522
14 Harry Tincknell Carlin 1:50.026 1:34.560
15 Mitchell Gilbert Mucke Motorsport 1:50.110 1:34.672
16 Felix Rosenqvist Mucke Motorsport 1:50.248 1:34.707
17 Tom Blomqvist EuroInternational 1:49.376 1:34.729
18 Andre Rudersdorf ma-con 1:52.391 1:34.743
19 Roy Nissany Mucke Motorsport 1:50.520 1:34.931
20 Antonio Giovinazzi Double R Racing 1:50.962 1:35.095
21 Michael Lewis Mucke Motorsport 1:50.339 1:35.296
22 Jimmy Eriksson ma-con 1:51.911 1:35.308
23 Spike Goddard ThreeBond/T-Sport 1:50.487 1:35.327
24 Tatiana Calderon Double R Racing 1:53.537 1:35.541
25 Sean Gelael Double R Racing 1:51.272 1:35.768
26 Sandro Zeller Jo Zeller Racing 1:54.210 1:36.054
27 Michela Cerruti Romeo Ferraris 1:56.059 1:37.831

Quickest personal time in bold
Quickest time of session in italics