Home Formula 4British F4 Zane Maloney extends record British F4 run at Oulton Park

Zane Maloney extends record British F4 run at Oulton Park

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

British Formula 4 championship leader Zane Maloney claimed his sixth consecutive victory as title rival Louis Foster hit trouble in the second Oulton Park race.

Maloney took advantage of drama ahead to come from sixth on the grid to win the reverse grid race by 2.980 seconds from Carlin team-mate Joe Turney.

Double R Racing driver Foster led away from pole, but a three car collision behind into Old Corner allowed title rival Maloney to make up three places.

Foster?s team-mate Alvarez got a poor start from second on the grid, with second-row starters Turney and Bart Horsten drawing alongside him. The three cars touched at the first corner, resulting in Arden driver Horsten and Alvarez spinning to the back of the field and Turney dropping to fourth.

The collision enabled Foster to pull out a 2.5s lead after the first lap from JHR Developments? Carter Williams, who made up five places in the first-lap melee.

But on the fourth lap Foster briefly slowed with a gear selector issue, and Maloney capitalised to take the lead from Williams, with Foster dropping to sixth.?Williams ended up taking his second British F4 podium in third.

A close fight developed for fourth place in the last couple of laps, with Tommy Foster holding on to the position for Arden, finishing just 0.281s ahead of Luke Browning – the Richardson Racing driver coming from the back of the grid after an issue in race one to take fifth. ?

Despite his earlier issue, Louis Foster finished just behind the pair in sixth after a late overtake on Arden’s Alex Connor.

Horsten (Arden) and Alvarez recovered from their first corner incident to score points in eighth and ninth.


Race results (15 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Zane Maloney Carlin 20m00.647s
2 Joe Turney Carlin +2.980s
3 Carter Williams JHR Developments +5.130s
4 Tommy Foster Arden +8.835s
5 Luke Browning Richardson Racing +9.116s
6 Louis Foster Double R Racing +9.836s
7 Alex Connor Arden +10.014s
8 Bart Horsten Arden +17.379s
9 Sebastian Alvarez Double R Racing +22.117s
10 Marcos Martinez Fortec Motorsports +27.435s
11 Roberto Faria Fortec Motorsports +36.055s
12 Reema Juffali Double R Racing +37.963s
13 Alex Walker JHR Developments +1 lap
DNS Josh Skelton JHR Developments
Fastest lap: L Foster, 1m24.584s

Championship Standings
?Maloney 227? ?2?L Foster 188? ?3 Alvarez 156? ?4 Horsten 147? ?5 Turney 110? ?6?Browning 107? ?7?Skelton 101? ?8?T Foster 80? ?9?Williams 71? ?10?Connor 61