Home Formula 3Macau Grand Prix Lynn wins Macau Grand Prix qualifying race

Lynn wins Macau Grand Prix qualifying race

by Peter Allen
Alex Lynn

Photo: CGPM

Alex Lynn drove to victory in the qualifying race at the Macau Grand Prix.

Lynn started third on the grid, but gained a place as Prema team-mate and polesitter Raffaele Marciello got a poor getaway. Lynn then moved into the lead past Felix Rosenqvist at Mandarin, only to hand first place back to the Swede when he ran wide at Lisboa.

After the safety car was deployed when the stalled car of Tom Blomqvist was hit by Harry Tincknell, Lynn used the slipstream at the restart to re-pass Rosenqvist into Lisboa. He then managed to pull clear of the field, winning by 2.4 seconds.

Rosenqvist finished in second place ahead of Marciello, who recovered from slipping down to fifth at the start by passing Lucas Auer and Antonio Felix da Costa.

Felix da Costa came home fourth but Auer crashed out at San Francisco. That allowed Pipo Derani to finish fifth, meaning he starts this year’s Grand Prix one place higher than he finished last year’s. Alexander Sims held off top rookie Jordan King and fellow Brit Will Buller for sixth. Carlos Sainz finished ninth while Esteban Ocon was tenth in his first top-line F3 race.

Race results
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Alex Lynn Theodore Racing by Prema 10 laps in 24:41.968
2 Felix Rosenqvist GR Asia with Mucke +2.411
3 Raffaele Marciello D88.com Prema Powerteam +3.461
4 Antonio Felix da Costa Carlin +4.089
5 Pipo Derani Fortec Motorsport +7.620
6 Alexander Sims Three Bond with T-Sport +10.620
7 Jordan King Carlin +10.958
8 Will Buller Fortec Motorsport +11.691
9 Carlos Sainz Carlin +13.045
10 Esteban Ocon Prema Powerteam +14.713
11 Stefano Coletti EuroInternational +15.853
12 Jazeman Jaafar Carlin +17.068
13 Nicholas Latifi Carlin +30.339
14 Yuhi Sekiguchi KFZ-Teile24 Mucke Motorsport +30.990
15 Antonio Giovinazzi Double R Racing +34.049
16 Lucas Wolf URD Rennsport +35.563
17 Sean Gelael Double R Racing +36.620
18 Yuichi Nakayama Tom?s +38.920
19 Katsumasa Chiyo B-Max Engineering +40.040
20 John Bryant-Meisner Fortec Motorsport +40.503
21 Sun Zheng Galaxy Double R Racing +1:06.786
22 Nelson Mason Jo Zeller Racing +1:11.265
23 Kevin Korjus Galaxy Double R Racing +1 lap
Not Classified
Lucas Auer Theodore Racing by Prema +8 laps
Ed Jones Fortec Motorsport +8 laps
Tom Blomqvist Fortec Motorsport +10 laps
Dennis Van Der Laar KFZ-Teile24 Mucke Motorsport +10 laps
Harry Tincknell Carlin +10 laps