Home Formula 3FIA F3 Championship ART’s Lundgaard takes FIA F3 Hungaroring pole, Prema caught out

ART’s Lundgaard takes FIA F3 Hungaroring pole, Prema caught out

by Ida Wood

Photo: Joe Portlock / LAT Images / FIA F3 Championship

Christian Lundgaard became the lead ART Grand Prix driver in the FIA Formula 3 standings by topping a closely-fought qualifying session at the Hungaroring.

Free practice pacesetter Lundgaard didn’t hit the top of the times until the last two minutes of the half-hour session, with a major reshuffle of the order in the last four minutes as drivers returned to track on second runs.

Hitech GP’s Juri Vips, who was the slowest of the 30 drivers early on, moved to the top just before Lundgaard set his best time and ended up completing the front row.

Max Fewtrell made it two ART cars in the top three, with championship leader Robert Shwartzman being the best Prema driver in fourth. After being fastest for most of the session, Marcus Armstrong was shuffled down to 13th in the second Prema car, while team-mate Jehan Daruvala could do no better than 17th.

Trident pair Niko Kari and Pedro Piquet, like Armstrong, featured at the front through much of the session and improved during the busy run to the chequered flag to qualify fifth and sixth.

Jake Hughes was the top HWA Racelab car in seventh, just over a quarter off pole, ahead of ART’s David Beckmann and Euroformula Open winners Yuki Tsunoda (Jenzer Motorsport) and Felipe Drugovich (Carlin).

Fellow EF Open graduate Liam Lawson looked set to qualify in the top 10 before hitting traffic on his final flying lap, which left him 20th but less than a second off pole.


Qualifying results
Pos Name Team Time
1 Christian Lundgaard ART Grand Prix 1m31.761s
2 Juri Vips Hitech GP +0.125s
3 Max Fewtrell ART Grand Prix +0.136s
4 Robert Shwartzman Prema +0.142s
5 Niko Kari Trident +0.213s
6 Pedro Piquet Trident +0.226s
7 Jake Hughes HWA Racelab +0.276s
8 David Beckmann ART Grand Prix +0.316s
9 Yuki Tsunoda Jenzer Motorsport +0.436s
10 Felipe Drugovich Carlin +0.595s
11 Leonardo Pulcini Hitech GP +0.614s
12 Sebastian Fernandez Campos Racing +0.615s
13 Marcus Armstrong Prema +0.624s
14 Alex Peroni Campos Racing +0.641s
15 Raoul Hyman Sauber Junior Team by Charouz +0.725s
16 Richard Verschoor MP Motorsport +0.804s
17 Jehan Daruvala Prema +0.832s
18 Yifei Ye Hitech GP +0.860s
19 Logan Sargeant Carlin +0.931s
20 Liam Lawson MP Motorsport +0.934s
21 Teppei Natori Carlin +0.966s
22 Fabio Scherer Sauber Junior Team by Charouz +1.112s
23 Simo Laaksonen MP Motorsport +1.184s
24 Lirim Zendeli Sauber Junior Team by Charouz +1.226s
25 Devlin DeFrancesco Trident +1.286s
26 Bent Viscaal HWA Racelab +1.303s
27 Keyvan Andres HWA Racelab +1.332s
28 Giorgio Carrara Jenzer Motorsport +1.611s
29 Andreas Estner Jenzer Motorsport +1.708s
30 Alessio Deledda Campos Racing +3.255s