Home News Latifi tops final morning of FR3.5 Aragon test

Latifi tops final morning of FR3.5 Aragon test

by Peter Allen
Nicholas Latifi

Photo: Alvaro Villa

Nicholas Latifi posted the fastest time during the morning session on the final day of Formula Renault 3.5 post-season testing at Motorland Aragon.

Returning to the Arden car raced by 2014 runner-up Pierre Gasly after spending Tuesday at Lotus, the Canadian moved to the top of the times inside the final ten minutes of the morning with a lap of 1m40.479s.

It is the week’s best time so far – four thousandths of a second faster than Matthieu Vaxiviere went on Tuesday afternoon.

Two-time 2014 race winner Oliver Rowland was made to settle for second on his one and only day of post-season running with Fortec ahead of a possible return for next year, and was 0.326s slower than Latifi.

Andrea Pizzitola came close to keeping the Lotus team on top for a fourth time from five sessions this week before being shuffled down to third place. Pietro Fantin ended up fourth after having two times deleted after his Draco car was found to be underweight.

European F3 frontrunner Lucas Auer was fifth in the second Arden car, while FR2.0 graduate Egor Orudzhev was again in the top six after moving from Arden to Fortec.

AVF’s Beitske Visser was seventh ahead of Vaxiviere, second Draco driver Bruno Bonifacio and Eurocup champion Nyck de Vries of DAMS.

Two drivers making their debuts in FR3.5 cars completed the 20 runners – GP3 racers Marvin Kirchhofer at Comtec and Nelson Mason at Pons.

Morning session results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Nicholas Latifi Arden Motorsport 1:40.479 40
2 Oliver Rowland Fortec Motorsports 1:40.805 0.326 36
3 Andrea Pizzitola Lotus 1:40.982 0.503 39
4 Pietro Fantin International Draco Racing 1:41.016 0.537 50
5 Lucas Auer Arden Motorsport 1:41.069 0.590 49
6 Egor Orudzhev Fortec Motorsports 1:41.085 0.606 54
7 Beitske Visser AVF 1:41.140 0.661 37
8 Matthieu Vaxiviere Lotus 1:41.231 0.752 27
9 Bruno Bonifacio International Draco Racing 1:41.350 0.871 27
10 Nyck de Vries DAMS 1:41.403 0.924 39
11 Jazeman Jaafar DAMS 1:41.580 1.101 35
12 Luca Ghiotto Strakka Racing 1:41.689 1.210 40
13 Dennis Olsen Strakka Racing 1:41.695 1.216 41
14 Gustav Malja Zeta Corse 1:41.707 1.228 26
15 Oscar Tunjo Pons Racing 1:41.797 1.318 42
16 Vasily Romanov Zeta Corse 1:41.837 1.358 29
17 Meindert van Buuren Comtec Racing 1:42.188 1.709 34
18 Alex Bosak AVF 1:42.190 1.711 49
19 Marvin Kirchhofer Comtec Racing 1:42.934 2.455 31
20 Nelson Mason Pons Racing 1:42.966 2.487 47