Home Z - Archive seriesFIA European F3 Kvyat stuns F3 field with triple pole at Spielberg

Kvyat stuns F3 field with triple pole at Spielberg

by Valentin Khorounzhiy

Photo: FIA F3

Red Bull Junior Team’s youngster Daniil Kvyat continued to be mighty impressive in his guest outings for Carlin in the European F3 series, sweeping up during the qualifying for the races at Spielberg with three pole positions out of the three possible.

The Red Bull prodigy was generally unrivaled on the drying track, staying at the top for the majority of allotted time for the sessions. In session one, Felix Rosenqvist and Lucas Wolf challenged him most, both securing a front row and a third place on the grid for the two first races. Eddie Cheever will start race one in fourth, ahead of teammates Jordan King and Nicholas Latifi, while another Carlin men, Harry Tincknell, starts behind Prema’s Lucas Auer in eighth. Sven Muller and Josh Hill complete the top ten.

For the second-best times, it’s Latifi who will start fourth, ahead of Hill and Cheever. Muller and Tincknell will make up the fourth row, with King and Michael Lewis rounding out the top ten.

In the second qualifying session, it was championship leader Raffaele Marciello who challenged Kvyat the most, ultimately settling for a front row start after a really dissapointing session one. Rosenqvist and King will challenge the leaders from the second row, with Latifi and Wolf on row three. Carlin drivers Jann Mardenborough and Tincknell will take seventh and eighth respectively, ahead of Auer and Double R’s Antonio Giovinazzi.

Van Amersfoort’s Dennis van de Laar will incur a five-place grid penalty for race one, after failing to slow down sufficiently for yellow flags.

Race grids
Pos. Race 1 Pos. Race 2 Pos. Race 3
1 Daniil Kvyat 1 Daniil Kvyat 1 Daniil Kvyat
2 Felix Rosenqvist 2 Lucas Wolf 2 Raffaele Marciello
3 Lucas Wolf 3 Felix Rosenqvist 3 Felix Rosenqvist
4 Eddie Cheever 4 Nicholas Latifi 4 Jordan King
5 Jordan King 5 Josh Hill 5 Nicholas Latifi
6 Nicholas Latifi 6 Eddie Cheever 6 Lucas Wolf
7 Lucas Auer 7 Sven Muller 7 Jann Mardenborough
8 Harry Tincknell 8 Harry Tincknell 8 Harry Tincknell
9 Sven Muller 9 Jordan King 9 Lucas Auer
10 Josh Hill 10 Michael Lewis 10 Antonio Giovinazzi
11 Mitchell Gilbert 11 Mitchell Gilbert 11 Roy Nissany
12 Jann Mardenborough 12 Lucas Auer 12 Sven Muller
13 Raffaele Marciello 13 Roy Nissany 13 Eddie Cheever
14 Michael Lewis 14 Pipo Derani 14 Pipo Derani
15 Felix Serralles 15 Alex Lynn 15 William Buller
16 Roy Nissany 16 Raffaele Marciello 16 Tom Blomqvist
17 Alex Lynn 17 Antonio Giovinazzi 17 Mitchell Gilbert
18 Antonio Giovinazzi 18 Tom Blomqvist 18 Josh Hill
19 Tom Blomqvist 19 William Buller 19 Michael Lewis
20 Pipo Derani 20 Mans Grenhagen 20 Andre Rudersdorf
21 William Buller 21 Sandro Zeller 21 Alex Lynn
22 Sandro Zeller 22 Tatiana Calderon 22 Dennis van de Laar
23 Mans Grenhagen 23 Jann Mardenborough 23 Felix Serralles
24 Andre Rudersdorf 24 Andre Rudersdorf 24 Sean Gelael
25 Tatiana Calderon 25 Sean Gelael 25 Mans Grenhagen
26 Sean Gelael 26 Dennis van de Laar 26 Tatiana Calderon
27 Spike Goddard 27 Felix Serralles 27 Sandro Zeller
28 Dennis van de Laar* 28 Spike Goddard 28 Spike Goddard

* denotes a grid penalty