Home Formula 4British F4 Kruger wins Silverstone finale to tie for points lead with a round left

Kruger wins Silverstone finale to tie for points lead with a round left

by Peter Allen
Jayde Kruger

Photo: Paul Davies Photography

Jayde Kruger and Harrison Scott will go into the final Formula Ford round tied on points for the championship lead after finishing first and second in the third race at Silverstone.

Scott’s lead had been reduced from 13 to two points in the earlier second race, when he could only finish eighth after contact with Kruger caused him to spin.

In the final race, Kruger led away from pole position, with Scott passing Ashley Sutton for second place into Copse at the start of lap two. Scott would set the fastest lap as he cut the gap to Kruger to half a second, but the South African was able to respond and open up his lead to 1.6 seconds.

Scott held on to the fastest lap, giving him a crucial bonus point that stops him from falling behind Kruger in terms of points.

Sutton resisted pressure from Max Marshall to complete the podium – enough for him to tie on points with Marshall for third place in the standings.

James Abbott was fifth ahead of Louise Richardson, Clay Mitchell, Michael O’Brien, Chris Mealin and Jessica Hawkins.

Juan Rosso slowed and retired to the pits after running seventh early on. Ricky Collard had been due to start seventh, but was absent following a large accident for his father Rob in the British Touring Car Championship race earlier in the afternoon at Silverstone.

Race results
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Jayde Kruger JTR 22 laps in 20:39.499
2 Harrison Scott Falcon Motorsport +1.615
3 Ashley Sutton MBM Motorsport +3.616
4 Max Marshall JTR +4.717
5 James Abbott Radical Motorsport +13.230
6 Louise Richardson Richardson Racing +17.834
7 Clay Mitchell JTR +19.524
8 Michael O’Brien MBM Motorsport +20.569
9 Chris Mealin Falcon Motorsport +24.996
10 Jessica Hawkins MBM Motorsport +32.310
11 Ovie Iroro Richardson Racing +1 lap
12 Greg Holloway SWB Motorsport +1 lap
Not classified
Juan Rosso Radical Motorsport +17 laps
Ricky Collard Falcon Motorsport Did not start