Home Featured Kjaergaard wins BRDC British F3 Brands Hatch finale ahead of Caroline and Lundqvist

Kjaergaard wins BRDC British F3 Brands Hatch finale ahead of Caroline and Lundqvist

by Peter Allen

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photgraphy

Carlin’s Nicolai Kjaergaard won the final BRDC British Formula 3 race of the weekend at Brands Hatch in front of team-mate Jamie Caroline and title rival Linus Lundqvist.

Kjaergaard started from pole position, courtesy of setting the fastest lap of the weekend so far in the opening race, and kept ahead at the start as Caroline took second away from Lundqvist.

The gap between the front two ebbed-and-flowed but remained under a second throughout, with?Kjaergaard eventually finishing 0.414 seconds ahead for his third win of the year.

Double R driver Lundqvist finished two seconds behind the winner in third, with only minimal damage done to his championship advantage over?Kjaergaard. His lead stands at 111 points with two rounds to go: enough to wrap up the title next time out at Donington Park if he isn’t outscored by his rival.

Tom Gamble held off Billy Monger to finish fourth, with Kush Maini not far behind in sixth after passing Manuel Maldonado.

Maldonado ended up 10 seconds further back but remained ahead of?Krishnaraaj Mahadik, Jusuf Owega and?Sasakorn Chaimongkol.

Sun Yue Yang ran fourth early on but dropped back to 13th, two places behind race two winner Jamie Chadwick.


Race results (14 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Nicolai Kjaergaard Carlin 19m28.004s
2 Jamie Caroline Carlin +0.414s
3 Linus Lundqvist Double R Racing +2.088s
4 Tom Gamble Fortec Motorsports +5.600s
5 Billy Monger Carlin +6.195s
6 Kush Maini Lanan Racing +7.106s
7 Manuel Maldonado Fortec Motorsports +17.207s
8 Krishnaraaj Mahadik Double R Racing +17.731s
9 Jusuf Owega Hillspeed +18.215s
10 Sasakorn Chaimongkol Hillspeed +18.424s
11 Jamie Chadwick Douglas Motorsport +32.316s
12 Ben Hurst Hillspeed +33.435s
13 Sun Yue Yang Carlin +41.689s
14 Pavan Ravishankar Double R Racing +42.075s
15 Joshua Mason Lanan Racing +45.144s
Ret Arvin Esmaeili Douglas Motorsport
Pole: Kjaergaard, 1m21.844s? ? ? Fastest lap: Kjaergaard, 1m22.604s

Championship Standings
?Lundqvist 473? ?2 Kjaergaard 362? ?3 Maini 321? ?4 Gamble 302? ?5 Mahadik 261? ?6 Maldonado 240? ?7 Monger 227? ?8 Chadwick 204? ?9 Chaimongkol 192? ?10 Yang 187