Home Featured Jamie Chadwick takes first BRDC British F3 win in Brands Hatch reversed-grid race

Jamie Chadwick takes first BRDC British F3 win in Brands Hatch reversed-grid race

by Peter Allen

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Jamie Chadwick won a single-seater race for the first time after taking victory in the BRDC British Formula 3 reversed-grid second race at Brands Hatch.

Douglas Motorsport driver Chadwick went from fourth to second at the start, following fellow third-row starter Pavan Ravishankar who moved into the lead before the first corner.

Ravishankar was soon handed a 10-second time penalty for a jump start, which enabled Chadwick to sit close behind for the remainder of the race and take the win.

The front two were able to build a comfortable margin over third-placed Arvin Esmaeili both before and after a lengthy safety car period for a lap-two incident that took pole-sitter Ben Hurst out of the race.

Esmaeili eventually succumbed to Krishnaraaj Mahadik, who then reduced a deficit of 2.5 seconds to Chadwick to just four tenths by the chequered flag but ran out of time to challenge for the win.

Just behind, Kush Maini completed the podium after making strong early progress from 10th on the grid.

Sasakorn Chaimongkol took fourth ahead of?Esmaeili, with Jusuf Owega in sixth, while Manuel Maldonado again passed muted Fortec Motorsports team-mate Tom Gamble to finish seventh.

Nicolai Kjaergaard finished ninth from 13th on the grid and will start race three from pole position courtesy of his fastest lap in race one, with the best race two times proving to be slower.

That didn’t stop some drivers from trying, with Billy Monger and Linus Lundqvist both dropping back from Kjaergaard at the restart before attempting quick laps.

Championship leader Lundqvist passed Monger and Sun Yue Yang late on to finish 11th, as Double R team-mate Ravashankar’s penalty put him 10th.

From the back of the grid, race one winner Jamie Caroline passed Lundqvist and his three Carlin team-mates on the first lap to get up to 11th, but a mistake on the second lap dropped him back to the back.

He eventually parked his car in the pits, seeing nothing to be gained with track conditions slower than in race one.


Race results (13 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Jamie Chadwick Douglas Motorsport 21m16.975s
2 Krishnaraaj Mahadik Double R Racing +0.439s
3 Kush Maini Lanan Racing +0.727s
4 Sasakorn Chaimongkol Hillspeed +4.001s
5 Arvin Esmaeili Douglas Motorsport +7.828s
6 Jusuf Owega Hillspeed +7.890s
7 Manuel Maldonado Fortec Motorsports +8.408s
8 Tom Gamble Fortec Motorsports +8.608s
9 Nicolai Kjaergaard Carlin +8.765s
10 Pavan Ravishankar Double R Racing +8.949s
11 Linus Lundqvist Double R Racing +10.227s
12 Sun Yue Yang Carlin +10.951s
13 Billy Monger Carlin +14.807s
14 Joshua Mason Lanan Racing +28.665s
Ret Jamie Caroline Carlin
Ret Ben Hurst Hillspeed
Fastest lap: Monger, 1m22.331s

Championship Standings
?Lundqvist 449? ?2 Kjaergaard 327? ?3 Maini 304? ?4 Gamble 281? ?5 Mahadik 248? ?6 Maldonado 225? ?7 Monger 208? ?8 Chadwick 194? ?9 Chaimongkol 181? ?10 Yang 179