Home Featured Vips beats Shwartzman to win Macau GP qualification race

Vips beats Shwartzman to win Macau GP qualification race

by Bethonie Waring

Hitech GP’s Juri Vips won the Macau Grand Prix qualification race after a multi-car accident on the opening lap.

The Red Bull junior avoided any drama and put in a faultless drive to maintain a 1.5s advantage over Prema’s Robert Shwartzman after an early safety car.

Shwartzman was briefly able to challenge Vips on the restart, but came under pressure from ART Grand Prix’s Christian Lundgaard. As the Ferrari junior defended against Lundgaard, Vips was able to build the lead back up.

Renault junior Lundgaard then dropped off from Shwartzman, who tried chasing down Vips and finished 1.549s behind.

The safety car was brought out on the opening lap after Jenzer Motorsport’s Arjun Maini was sent into the wall at Lisboa.

Maini made contact with Logan Sargeant as the Carlin driver tried to go up the inside of the Indian. As Maini stopped across the track, those behind him became stuck, though most of the field managed to avoid any serious damage.

Sargeant’s team-mate Dan Ticktum, who was running close behind Maini, tried overtaking HWA Racelab driver Jake Hughes while passing the stricken car. He got squeezed up against the wall into the air, forcing him to pit for repairs.

Hughes and Campos Racing’s Enaam Ahmed were unable to get going again after the crash.

Sargeant continued undamaged and ended up challenging Sauber junior Callum Ilott on the final lap for fourth. Ilott, who was passed by Lundgaard on the opening lap and then MP Motorsport’s Richard Verschoor midway through the race, managed to hold off the American to come home fifth.

With just two laps remaining, Felipe Drugovich crashed out of 15th place at Lisboa. His Carlin was recovered without the need of a safety car period, and promoted last placed starter Enzo Fittipaldi (Sauber) up to 14th.

Trident’s Alessio Lorandi finished seventh, ahead of Ferdinand Habsburg (ART), David Beckmann (Trident) and Leonardo Pulcini (Campos).


Race results (10 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Juri Vips Hitech GP 25m09.190s
2 Robert Shwartzman Prema +1.549s
3 Christian Lundgaard ART Grand Prix +5.625s
4 Richard Verschoor MP Motorsport +7.402s
5 Callum Ilott Sauber Junior Team by Charouz +10.767s
6 Logan Sargeant Carlin +11.216s
7 Alessio Lorandi Trident +11.900s
8 Ferdinand Habsburg ART Grand Prix +13.200s
9 David Beckmann Trident +20.006s
10 Leonardo Pulcini Campos Racing +25.551s
11 Keyvan Andres HWA Racelab +26.416s
12 Lukas Dunner MP Motorsport +28.233s
13 Charles Leong Jenzer Motorsport +32.905s
14 Enzo Fittipaldi Sauber Junior Team by Charouz +33.676s
15 Sebastian Fernandez ART Grand Prix +34.261s
16 Yuki Tsunoda Hitech GP +34.698s
17 Marcus Armstrong Prema +35.403s
18 Frederik Vesti Prema +36.687s
19 Andreas Estner Jenzer Motorsport +35.653s
20 Liam Lawson MP Motorsport +37.151s
21 Sophia Floersch HWA Racelab +38.158s
22 Max Fewtrell Hitech GP +38.634s
23 Olli Caldwell Trident +39.338s
24 Alessio Deledda Campos Racing +58.920s
25 David Schumacher Sauber Junior Team by Charouz +1m37.059s
26 Felipe Drugovich Carlin +2 laps
27 Dan Ticktum Carlin +2 laps
Ret Jake Hughes HWA Racelab
Ret Arjun Maini Jenzer Motorsport
Ret Enaam Ahmed Campos Racing
Fastest lap: Vips, 2m06.317s