Home Formula 3GB3 Jewiss handed season-opening British F3 win after Frederick penalty

Jewiss handed season-opening British F3 win after Frederick penalty

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Kiern Jewiss has been awarded victory in the first BRDC British Formula 3 race of the season after original winner Kaylen Frederick was handed a 10 second time penalty for a false start.

Frederick dominated the race after getting the jump on pole sitter Louis Foster off the line, with Foster later given a 10 second penalty in the middle of the race for a start infraction.

After the race, Clerks of the Course reviewed the incident and found Carlin driver Frederick had also jumped the start, with his penalty demoting him to eighth.

Jewiss originally crossed the finish line third, but had already been promoted to second by the chequered flag due to Foster’s penalty.

The victory is Jewiss’ second in the championship after a win at Brands Hatch last year, and gives Douglas Motorsport a one-two with Ulysse de Pauw second and Carlin’s Nazim Azman second.

The third Douglas driver Manaf Hijjawi, who was previously classified ninth, has also been handed a 10 second penalty for a false start.


Race results (11 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Kiern Jewiss Douglas Motorsport 20m12.148s
2 Ulysse De Pauw Douglas Motorsport +1.247s
3 Nazim Azman Carlin +2.020s
4 Josh Skelton Chris Dittmann Racing +2.932s
5 Sasakorn Chaimongkol Hillspeed +4.470s
6 Guilherme Peixoto Carlin +4.798s
7 Oliver Clarke Hillspeed +5.416s
8 Kaylen Frederick Carlin +6.040s
9 Nico Varrone Chris Dittmann Racing +7.694s
10 Reece Ushijima Hitech GP +8.324s
11 Benjamin Pedersen Double R Racing +8.929s
12 Bart Horsten Lanan Racing +9.202s
13 Louis Foster Double R Racing +9.404s
14 Kush Maini Hitech GP +11.257s
15 Piers Prior Lanan Racing +11.936s
16 Manaf Hijjawi Douglas Motorsport +16.782s
Ret Joshua Mason Lanan Racing
Fastest lap: Frederick, 1m31.369s