Home Formula 3GB3 Piers Prior scores lights-to-flag race two win on British F3 debut

Piers Prior scores lights-to-flag race two win on British F3 debut

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Piers Prior took a lights-to-flag victory in the second BRDC British Formula 3 race of the weekend at Oulton Park from reversed-grid pole position.

The Lanan Racing driver was kept under pressure by Hitech GP’s Kush Maini throughout the race but didn’t put a wheel wrong and finished 0.639s ahead to win on his debut weekend in the championship.

Further back, Bart Horsten and Benjamin Pedersen battled for the final podium position in the early stages of the race, before Horsten was able to pull clear of the Double R Racing driver and secure a one-three finish for Lanan.

Pedersen spent the remainder of the race defending against a train of drivers that led back through to P15 at one point.

Nicolas Varrone and Reece Ushijima, who fell backwards on the opening lap, pushed to try to find a way through, but Pedersen defended well and took fourth, 7.5s behind Horsten.

Hillspeed duo Oliver Clarke and Sasakorn Chaimongkol also ended the race in the Pedersen train, finishing seventh and eighth, while Guilherme Peixoto and Josh Skelton completed the top 10.

After a penalty in race one dropped him to the back of the field, Louis Foster hit more problems when he was forced to pit at the end of the lap one. The Double R team went to work at the back of his car, but he was unable to get back out.

Race one winner Kiern Jewiss climbed up to 13th just ahead of the man who won on track, Kaylen Frederick, who had to start the reversed-grid race from the back row despite the 10-second penalty he was awarded after race one.


Race results (13 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Piers Prior Lanan 19m59.995s
2 Kush Maini Hitech GP +0.639s
3 Bart Horsten Lanan +1.934s
4 Benjamin Pedersen Double R +9.441s
5 Nico Varrone Chris Dittmann Racing +10.019s
6 Reece Ushijima Hitech GP +10.592s
7 Oliver Clarke Hillspeed +10.899s
8 Sasakorn Chaimongkol Hillspeed +11.219s
9 Guilherme Peixoto Carlin +12.413s
10 Josh Skelton Chris Dittmann Racing +13.240s
11 Ulysse de Pauw Douglas Motorsport +14.308s
12 Nazim Azman Carlin +15.116s
13 Kiern Jewiss Douglas Motorsport +16.569s
14 Kaylen Frederick Carlin +16.979s
15 Josh Mason Lanan +20.005s
Ret Manaf Hijjawi Douglas Motorsport +6 laps
Ret Louis Foster Double R +12 laps
Fastest lap: Horsten, 1m31.522s

Championship standings
Jewis 39   2 De Pauw 36   3 Chaimongkol 29   4 Azman 28   5 Skelton 28   6 Prior 26   7 Clarke 25   8 Maini 24   9 Horsten 24   10 Varrone 24