Home Formula 3FRegional European Championship Arthur Leclerc leads Prema 1-2-3 in second Misano FREC race

Arthur Leclerc leads Prema 1-2-3 in second Misano FREC race

by Bethonie Waring

Arthur Leclerc converted pole position to victory in dominant fashion at Misano in the second Formula Regional European Championship race of the season.

Leclerc was untouchable throughout the race, pulling away from team-mate and fellow Ferrari junior Gianluca Petecof to enjoy a managed run to the flag.

He finished 4.7 seconds ahead of the rest of the field to take his first win of the season after a crash in the opening race of the weekend took him out of the race on lap one.

Vips should have started from second on the grid but took a two-place grid penalty after triggering the contact with Leclerc and Petecof in the opening race.

The KIC Motorsport driver was briefly able to challenge Rasmussen for the final podium position but the top four soon spread out through the second half of the race.

Jamie Chadwick spent most of the race holding a train of cars behind her as she fought to keep fifth.

Patrik Pasma and Konsta Lappalainen led the fight, with Pasma managing to get alongside the Prema driver at one point but Chadwick held firm.

Pasma was finally able to find a way through in the closing stages of the race, bringing Pierre-Louis Chovet with him, the Van Amersfoort driver having passed Lappalainen a few laps earlier.

As soon as they were past Chadwick, Pasma and Chovet were able to pull away and began to close in on Vips.

Vips fell backwards to sixth in the final laps, allowing Pasma and Chovet through to take fourth and fifth.

Lapplainen finished seventh ahead of Chadwick, Andrea Cola and Gillian Henrion.


Race results (18 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Arthur Leclerc Prema 31m52.680s
2 Gianluca Petecof Prema +4.772s
3 Oliver Rasmussen Prema +15.806s
4 Patrik Pasma KIC Motorsport +24.434s
5 Pierre-Louis Chovet Van Amersfoort Racing +24.856s
6 Juri Vips KIC Motorsport +26.750s
7 Konsta Lappalainen KIC Motorsport +30.737s
8 Jamie Chadwick Prema +46.493s
9 Andrea Cola Monolite Racing +51.781s
10 Gillian Henrion Gillian Track Events +53.529s
11 Emidio Pesce DR Formula by RP Motorsport +56.704s
Fastest lap: Petecof, 1m30.378s

Championship standings:
1 Rasmussen 40   2 Pasma 30   3 Petecof 30   4 Leclerc 25   5 Chovet 20    6 Chadwick 19   7 Cola 10   8 Vips 8   9 Lappalainen 8   10 Pesce 6