Home Z - Archive seriesFIA European F3 Ilott leads Sette Camara as Vallelunga F3 test concludes

Ilott leads Sette Camara as Vallelunga F3 test concludes

by Peter Allen
Callum Ilott

Photo: FIA Formula 3 European Championship

Callum Ilott set the quickest time of the first official European Formula 3 pre-season test at Vallelunga on day two, the former Red Bull junior edging out new recruit Sergio Sette Camara.

After a rain-lashed first day, the F3 teams had a dry day of running on Friday, with Carlin pair Alessio Lorandi and Ryan Tveter leading the way during the morning session.

The Italian’s time made him the first driver below the 1m28s mark during the test.

Ilott, who transferred in the opposite direction to his former karting rival Lorandi over the winter by moving from Carlin to Van Amersfoort Racing, went ahead towards the end of the afternoon, displacing team-mate Pedro Piquet.

Sette Camara, remaining with Thursday’s pacesetter’s Motopark for his second season, finished up 0.037s behind Ilott’s time of 1m27.728s.

Piquet, who is continuing to use a livery inspired by the Brabham BT49 his father Nelson used to win the 1981 Formula 1 world title like he did in Brazilian F3, took third with Lorandi fourth.

Anthoine Hubert, still in his early F3 miles after his VAR deal was announced at the start of the week, was fifth ahead of Tveter and Prema’s lead driver Lance Stroll.

Arjun Maini was ninth in the sole T-Sport car with Motopark’s Joel Eriksson and Niko Kari rounding out the top 10.

One day of official pre-season testing remains, at Paul Ricard on 31 March ahead of the opening race weekend at the same circuit.

Combined times
Pos Driver Team Session 1 Session 2
1 Callum Ilott Van Amersfoort Racing 1:28.255 1:27.728
2 Sergio Sette Camara Motopark 1:28.326 1:27.765
3 Pedro Piquet Van Amersfoort Racing 1:28.628 1:27.859
4 Alessio Lorandi Carlin 1:27.995 1:27.884
5 Anthoine Hubert Van Amersfoort Racing 1:28.644 1:27.962
6 Ryan Tveter Carlin 1:28.102 1:28.021
7 Lance Stroll Prema Powerteam 1:28.132 1:28.022
8 Arjun Maini T-Sport 1:28.374 1:28.085
9 Joel Eriksson Motopark 1:28.482 1:28.151
10 Niko Kari Motopark 1:28.232 1:28.187
11 Mikkel Jensen Mucke Motorsport 1:28.622 1:28.210
12 Nick Cassidy Prema Powerteam 1:28.276 1:28.277
13 George Russell HitechGP 1:28.715 1:28.296
14 Ralf Aron Prema Powerteam 1:28.998 1:28.332
15 Raoul Hyman Carlin 1:28.705 1:28.334
16 Maximilian Gunther Prema Powerteam 1:28.647 1:28.372
17 Ben Barnicoat HitechGP 1:29.234 1:28.407
18 Guan Yu Zhou Motopark 1:28.646 1:28.454
19 Harrison Newey Van Amersfoort Racing 1:29.070 1:28.720
20 Li Zhi Cong Carlin 1:29.587 1:29.120
21 Nikita Mazepin HitechGP 1:29.209 1:29.174