Home News GP2/GP3 to start seasons in Barcelona and visit Malaysia

GP2/GP3 to start seasons in Barcelona and visit Malaysia

by Peter Allen

Photo: Sam Bloxham/GP2 Media Service

The GP2 and GP3 schedules for this season have been revealed, with both championships to start in Barcelona in May and travel to Malaysia later in the year.

Both series will exclusively support Formula 1 grands prix, with the calendars remaining at 11 and nine events respectively.

Neither will race in Sochi this year, instead going to Sepang for their penultimate rounds prior to Yas Marina. GP2 previously started its 2012 and 2013 campaigns at the Malaysian circuit, but it will be a maiden voyage for GP3.

As in Formula 1, Germany’s Hockenheim returns to the schedule for both series.

The World Endurance Championship-supporting event in Bahrain is therefore dropped, as is GP2’s date at the Bahrain Grand Prix, which has been traded for a slot at the new F1 event in Baku.

2016 GP2 and GP3 dates
13-15 May Barcelona, Spain GP2, GP3
26-28 May Monte Carlo, Monaco GP2
17-19 June Baku, Azerbaijan GP2
1-3 July Spielberg, Austria GP2, GP3
8-10 July Silverstone, Great-Britain GP2, GP3
22-24 July Hungaroring, Hungary GP2, GP3
29-31 July Hockenheim, Germany GP2, GP3
26-28 August Spa-Francorchamps, Belgium GP2, GP3
2-4 September Monza, Italy GP2, GP3
31 September-2 October Sepang, Malaysia GP2, GP3
25-27 November Yas Marina, UAE GP2, GP3