Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault 2.0FR2.0 Alps Hughes triumphs in first FR2.0 Alps race at Spa

Hughes triumphs in first FR2.0 Alps race at Spa

by Gruz David
Photo: Fast Lane Promotions

Photo: Fast Lane Promotions

Jake Hughes celebrated his first Formula Renault 2.0 Alps victory in race one of round four at Spa-Francorchamps.

The Koiranen driver converted his pole position into a win, despite giving up?the lead to Jack Aitken?during the opening lap.

Hughes quickly reclaimed first from his British teammate and he maintained a gap of a second throughout the race, which ended one lap early after an incident involving Bruno Baptista.

The Brazilian’s car was stranded on the track and with one lap to go, the race direction opted for a red flag stoppage.

The podium was completed by the JD duo of Matevos Isaakyan and Thiago Vivacqua as both of them managed to pass the slowing Aitken.

Although the Brit briefly fell down to fifth as Vasily Romanov also managed to get ahead of him, the Russian retired after an overtaking attempt on Vivacqua for third.

As a result Aitken ended up fourth followed by Koiranen teammate Stefan Riener and Ukranian Danylo Pronenko.

German Philip Hamprecht, Russian Denis Bulatov, American TJ Fischer and Australian James Allen completed the top ten.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Jake Hughes Koiranen GP 10 laps in 23:13.776
2 Matevos Isaakyan JD Motorsport +1.716
3 Thiago Vivacqua JD Motorsport +2.885
4 Jack Aitken Koiranen GP +8.411
5 Stefan Riener Koiranen GP +9.613
6 Danyil Pronenko BVM Racing +10.855
7 Philip Hamprecht Koiranen GP +11.728
8 TJ Fischer Cram Motorsport +22.982
9 Bruno Baptista Koiranen GP +23.448
10 Denis Bulatov GSK Grand Prix +24.319
11 James Allen ARTA Engineering +27.411
12 Vasily Romanov Cram Motorsport +1 lap
Not classified
Daniele Cazzaniga GSK Grand Prix +5 laps
Mahaveer Raghunathan Cram Motorsport +9 laps
Alessio Lorandi GSK Grand Prix +10 laps