Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup Hughes inherits pole for first Eurocup race after Barnicoat penalty

Hughes inherits pole for first Eurocup race after Barnicoat penalty

by Gruz David
Photo: Fast Lane Promotions

Photo: Fast Lane Promotions

Jake Hughes will start race one of Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 at Spa-Francorchamps from pole position.

Having topped group B by a tiny margin but unable to beat Ben Barnicoat‘s benchmark from group A – partly due to Danylo Pronenko‘s red flag-causing incident at the Kemmel straight – Hughes was originally set to start from second.

However, a four-place grid penalty for Barnicoat which he received at Aragon for causing a collision with Lasse Sorensen relegates the Racing Steps Foundation-backed driver to fifth on the grid.

As such, Hughes will occupy the first spot on the grid, while Ukyo Sasahara becomes the top driver of group A, starting from the front row.

Jack Aitken will begin behind his teammate Hughes, having been edged out by less than a tenth, with Anthoine Hubert starting alongside him.

Barnicoat drops down to fifth followed by fellow Fortec driver Callan O’Keeffe and the Josef Kaufmann duo of Louis Deletraz and Kevin Jorg.

FR2.0 veteran Ignazio D’Agosto and Matevos?Isaakyan will complete the top ten on the grid.

2014 runner-up and Aragon race winner Dennis Olsen was only eighth fastest in group B and will take up the race from 16th.

Qualifying results
Pos. Driver Team Group A Group B
1 Jake Hughes Koiranen GP 2:16.747
2 Ukyo Sasahara ART Junior Team 2:16.865
3 Jack Aitken Koiranen GP 2:16.813
4 Anthoine Hubert Tech 1 Racing 2:16.892
5 Ben Barnicoat* Fortec Motorsport 2:16.645
6 Callan O’Keeffe Fortec Motorsport 2:16.860
7 Louis Deletraz Josef Kaufmann Racing 2:16.907
8 Kevin Jorg Josef Kaufmann Racing 2:16.865
9 Ignazio D’Agosto Manor MP 2:16.931
10 Matevos Isaakyan JD Motorsport 2:17.011
11 Darius Oskoui ART Junior Team 2:17.174
12 Simon Gachet Tech 1 Racing 2:17.236
13 Max Defourny ART Junior Team 2:17.235
14 Ferdinand Habsburg Fortec Motorsport 2:17.266
15 Dennis Olsen Manor MP 2:17.294
16 Hugo de Sadeleer Tech 1 Racing 2:17.669
17 Thiago Vivacqua JD Motorsport 2:17.331
18 Harrison Scott AVF 2:17.768
19 Anton de Pasquale Koiranen GP 2:17.412
20 Lasse Sorensen Manor MP 2:17.857
21 Josef Zaruba AVF 2:17.560
22 Luke Chudleigh Fortec Motorsport 2:17.899
23 Charlie Eastwood AVF 2:17.612
24 Amaury Richard ARTA Engineering 2:17.991
25 Philip Hamprecht Koiranen GP 2:18.036
26 Stefan Riener Koiranen GP 2:18.051
27 Amaury Bonduel JD Motorsport 2:18.194
28 Nikita Mazepin Josef Kaufmann Racing 2:18.135
29 Valentin Hasse-Clot Manor MP 2:18.231
30 James Allen ARTA Engineering 2:18.570
31 Henrique Chaves AVF 2:18.644
32 Bruno Baptista Koiranen GP 2:18.675
33 Danylo Pronenko BVM 2:19.810
34 Martin Kodric** Fortec Motorsport 2:17.373

*Ben Barnicoat received a four-place grid penalty
**Martin Kodric has been demoted to the back of the grid