Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault 2.0FR2.0 Alps Hubert tops first Pau qualifying as Tech 1 lock out front row

Hubert tops first Pau qualifying as Tech 1 lock out front row

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: DPPI

Photo: DPPI

Frenchman Anthoine Hubert led a Tech 1 Racing 1-2 in the first qualifying of Formula Renault Alps’ second round of 2015 at Pau.

Hubert managed three session-best sectors during his benchmark lap and was handed pole when a red flag ended the session three minutes early.

It was JD’s Matevos Isaakyan who led qualifying with five minutes to go, having been on the podium in his Formula Renault debut at Pau last year.

But Hubert, on a drying track, took more than two seconds off Isaakyan’s time to go quickest.

As the Russian was in the pits, Simon Gachet and Vasily Romanov surpassed his time as well and he got no chance to retaliate, with Daniele Cazzaniga appearing to hit the barriers and ceasing track activity.

So it was an all-French front row and an all-Russian row two, while Martin Kodric and Jake Hughes followed in fifth and sixth. Stefan Riener was right behind his teammate in seventh, with Thiago Vivacqua in eighth.

Ben Barnicoat led the session early on, but ended up having to settle for ninth, while high-profile returnee Matthieu Vaxiviere is to line up in tenth.

Championship leader Jack Aitken missed out on the top ten by two tenths and will start 11th.

Qualifying results
Pos. Driver Team Time Gap
1 Anthoine Hubert Tech 1 Racing 1:20.114
2 Simon Gachet Tech 1 Racing 1:20.958 0.844
3 Vasily Romanov Cram Motorsport 1:22.240 2.126
4 Matevos Isaakyan JD Motorsport 1:22.461 2.347
5 Martin Kodric Fortec Motorsports 1:22.691 2.577
6 Jake Hughes Koiranen GP 1:23.172 3.058
7 Stefan Riener Koiranen GP 1:23.222 3.108
8 Thiago Vivacqua JD Motorsport 1:23.714 3.600
9 Ben Barnicoat Fortec Motorsports 1:23.716 3.602
10 Matthieu Vaxiviere Arta Engineering 1:23.967 3.853
11 Jack Aitken Koiranen GP 1:24.172 4.058
12 Zac Claman DeMelo Fortec Motorsports 1:24.297 4.183
13 Denis Bulatov GSK Grand Prix 1:24.593 4.479
14 James Allen Arta Engineering 1:24.615 4.501
15 Daniele Cazzaniga GSK Grand Prix 1:24.689 4.575
16 Max Defourny Koiranen GP 1:24.837 4.723
17 Matteo Ferrer Cram Motorsport 1:24.942 4.828
18 Philip Hamprecht Koiranen GP 1:25.066 4.952
19 TJ Fischer Cram Motorsport 1:25.325 5.211
20 Bruno Baptista Koiranen GP 1:26.765 6.651