Home Formula 4French F4 Honda’s Nomura heads French F4 field in Pau free practice

Honda’s Nomura heads French F4 field in Pau free practice

by Ida Wood

Photo: Ida Wood

Honda junior Yuto Nomura was quickest in French Formula 4’s free practice session on the streets of Pau.

The session was red flagged twice, the first time when Jeronimo Berrio hit the tyre barrier at turn eight, and the second shortly after the restart and which led to the rear of Pol Lopez’s car being taken apart in the pits and him not returning to track.

Alessandro Giusti was the initial setter of the pace, but laptimes quickly improved and soon Hugh Barter, Elliott Vayron and then Berrio were ahead and the laptime to beat was a 1m23.804s.

Over two seconds was knocked off that before Berrio’s crash, and it was Honda junior Souta Arao who sat at the top with a 1m21.645s when the red flags waved for the first time.

There was early drama too as Edgar Pierre broke his front wing by hitting the barriers but avoiding interrupting the session.

He managed to sneak in a 1m21.607s before the second stoppage, then was on course for further improvement before Pablo Sarrazin stopped at turn nine with two-and-a-half minutes remaining and brought out yellow flags.

Once the track returned to green there was only a minute to go, and Giusti went from fourth to first by becoming the first driver to lap in the 1m20s.

Nobody looked like they could beat him, but Honda junior Yuto Nomura and Pierre-Alexandre Provost did jump up to second and third as the chequered flag fell and it turns out they did so just in time to get another lap in.

Nomura set a 1m20.596s to usurp Giusti, and Provost was less than three tenths slower in third.

Mateo Villagomez was the very last to cross the line and he leapt up to fourth with a 1m20.959s, and Louis Pelet’s final lap shuffled Arao and Barter down to sixth and seventh.

Sarrazin, whose car remained on track after he came to a stop, was 12th fastest.

Free practice results
Pos Driver Time Gap Laps
1 Yuto Nomura 1m20.596s 17
2 Alessandro Giusti 1m20.754s +0.158s 17
3 Pierre-Alexandre Provost 1m20.870s +0.274s 16
4 Mateo Villagomez 1m20.959s +0.368s 16
5 Louis Pelet 1m21.484s +0.888s 17
6 Souta Arao 1m21.607s +1.011s 17
7 Hugh Barter 1m21.659s +1.063s 17
8 Max Reis 1m21.691s +1.095s 16
9 Elliott Vayron 1m22.002s +1.406s 16
10 Romain Andriolo 1m22.153s +1.557s 16
11 Enzo Peugeot 1m22.475s +1.879s 16
12 Pablo Sarrazin 1m22.539s +1.943s 12
13 Amir Sayed 1m22.724s +2.128s 15
14 Lorens Lecertua 1m23.055s +2.459s 16
15 Enzo Geraci 1m23.089s +2.493s 16
16 Jeronimo Berrio 1m23.804s +3.208s 8
17 Leny Reveillere 1m24.343s +3.747s 16
18 Valentino Mini 1m24.351s +3.755s 15
19 Edgar Pierre 1m24.610s +4.014s 13
20 Dario Cabanelas 1m25.134s +4.538s 15
21 Luciano Morano 1m26.017s +5.421s 16
22 Enzo Richer 1m27.106s +6.510s 15
23 Antoine Fernande 1m27.948s +7.352s 8
24 Pol Lopez 1m29.647s +9.051s 11