Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup Guest driver George Russell delivers Tech 1’s first Eurocup win of 2014

Guest driver George Russell delivers Tech 1’s first Eurocup win of 2014

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: Alexandre Guillaumot/DPPI

Photo: Alexandre Guillaumot/DPPI

Eurocup Formula Renault wild card driver George Russell stunned the field of series regulars by taking victory in the final race of the 2014 season at Jerez.

The 16-year-old Brit led from lights to flag in what was his fourth race in the series, delivering 2013 team champions Tech 1 Racing’s first win of the campaign.

After lining up on pole, Russell made a smooth getaway from his grid slot, keeping the lead into turn one. Meanwhile, fellow front row starter Alex Albon found himself bogged down, slipping behind Nyck de Vries into turn one and then running wide to lose two more spots.

Two laps into the race, Russell established an 0.8s lead over the series champion, but it was then cancelled out by the safety car coming out when Martin Rump collided with Egor Orudzhev in the fight for P11.

The restart followed a few minutes later and, at the line, the more experienced de Vries managed to keep up with the race leader, almost trying for an overtake into turn two. However, Russell withstood the barrage and soon pulled out a one-second lead over the Koiranen driver.

From that point on, it was a straightforward race for the wild card entrant, who ended up finishing 1.6s ahead of the series champion. Behind them, Jack Aitken was a close third, having overtaken Kevin Jorg after the restart.

Jorg had a number of cars right behind him during the latter stages of the race, but managed to hold on to second, leading Alex Albon, Matt Parry and Dennis Olsen, who secured the runner-up spot in the drivers’ championship.

Jake Hughes recorded Strakka Racing’s first top-ten finish in the Eurocup in eighth, while Steijn Schothorst and Gustav Malja picked up ninth and tenth respectively.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 George Russell Tech 1 Racing 15 laps in 27:57.026
2 Nyck de Vries Koiranen GP +1.561
3 Jack Aitken Fortec Motorsports +2.403
4 Kevin Jorg Josef Kaufmann Racing +12.013
5 Alexander Albon KTR +12.193
6 Matt Parry Fortec Motorsports +12.850
7 Dennis Olsen Prema Powerteam +13.033
8 Jake Hughes Strakka Racing +13.376
9 Steijn Schothorst Manor MP Motorsport +13.669
10 Gustav Malja Josef Kaufmann Racing +17.957
11 Callan O’Keeffe KTR +18.251
12 Hans Villemi Prema Powerteam +18.557
13 Bruno Bonifacio Prema Powerteam +19.355
14 Pietro Fittipaldi Koiranen GP +21.504
15 Thiago Vivacqua JD Motorsport +22.439
16 Anthoine Hubert Tech 1 Racing +23.057
17 Aurelien Panis ART Junior Team +23.490
18 Gregor Ramsay KTR +23.511
19 Levin Amweg ART Junior Team +23.856
20 Simon Gachet ART Junior Team +24.328
21 Stefan Riener Koiranen GP +25.009
22 Andrea Pizzitola Manor MP Motorsport +25.873
23 Hong Li Ye Koiranen GP +26.573
24 James Allen KTR +27.863
25 Danyil Pronenko BVM Racing +35.719
Not classified
Martin Rump Fortec Motorsports +13 laps
Egor Orudzhev Tech 1 Racing +13 laps
DNS Ben Barnicoat Fortec Motorsports