Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup George Russell claims pole for final Eurocup race of 2014

George Russell claims pole for final Eurocup race of 2014

by Peter Allen
Photo: Antonin Grenier / DPPI / Renault Sport Media

Photo: Antonin Grenier / DPPI / Renault Sport Media

Wildcard entry George Russell will start the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 season finale at Jerez from pole position.

Driving for Tech 1 this weekend, the 16-year-old Briton set the pace in the quicker second qualifying group, beating champion and race one winner Nyck de Vries by 0.07 seconds.

Quickest in the first group and therefore starting alongside Russell on the front row was his fellow McLaren Autosport BRDC Award finalist Alex Albon, who is within 11 points of the championship runner-up position going into the last race.

Albon was 0.355s quicker than his closest rival Kevin Jorg, who will join de Vries on the second row. Row three will be shared by Fortec team-mates and two more British racers Jack Aitken and Matt Parry.

Egor Orudzhev will start seventh ahead of Dennis Olsen – the driver currently holding P2 in the standings despite being disqualified from his P2 finish in race one due to a technicality. Jake Hughes and Steijn Schothorst will complete the top ten on the grid.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Group B Group A
1 George Russell Tech 1 Racing 1:39.691
2 Alexander Albon KTR 1:40.076
3 Nyck de Vries Koiranen GP 1:39.761
4 Kevin Jorg Josef Kaufmann Racing 1:40.431
5 Jack Aitken Fortec Motorsports 1:39.824
6 Matt Parry Fortec Motorsports 1:40.533
7 Egor Orudzhev Tech 1 Racing 1:40.066
8 Dennis Olsen Prema Powerteam 1:40.585
9 Jake Hughes Strakka Racing 1:40.123
10 Steijn Schothorst Manor MP Motorsport 1:40.782
11 Gustav Malja Josef Kaufmann Racing 1:40.253
12 Martin Rump Fortec Motorsports 1:40.839
13 Callan O’Keeffe KTR 1:40.259
14 Hans Villemi Prema Powerteam 1:40.879
15 Anthoine Hubert Tech 1 Racing 1:40.299
16 Pietro Fittipaldi Koiranen GP 1:40.986
17 Thiago Vivacqua JD Motorsport 1:40.368
18 Bruno Bonifacio Prema Powerteam 1:41.075
19 Aur?lien Panis ART Junior Team 1:40.700
20 Gregor Ramsay KTR 1:41.392
21 Andrea Pizzitola Manor MP Motorsport 1:40.904
22 Levin Amweg ART Junior Team 1:41.445
23 Ben Barnicoat Fortec Motorsports 1:41.061
24 James Allen KTR 1:41.844
25 Simon Gachet ART Junior Team 1:41.066
26 Stefan Riener Koiranen GP 1:42.313
27 Hong Li Ye Koiranen GP 1:41.067
28 Danylo Pronenko BVM Racing 1:43.346