Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup Gasly beats Rowland to Hungaroring pole

Gasly beats Rowland to Hungaroring pole

by Peter Allen
Pierre Gasly

Photo: Renault Sport/DPPI

Pierre Gasly claimed first blood in the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 run-in by scoring pole position ahead of points leader Oliver Rowland at the Hungaroring.

Rowland had topped the first of the two groups with a time of 1m42.293s, but Gasly hit the top of Group B and got his time down to a 1m41.746s. He then continued to set consistent lap times beneath the 1m42s barrier but although he was unable to improve his time again before the chequered flag, his margin was enough to take pole.

Esteban Ocon began eating into his fellow Frenchman’s advantage in the closing stages but his final lap fell 0.143s short so the Lotus man will have to make do with third on the grid behind Gasly and Rowland.

Jake Dennis was second to Racing Steps Foundation stable-mate Rowland in the first segment so will line up fourth on the grid. Nyck de Vries showed improved form to join Gasly and Ocon in the 1m41s in Group B and claim fifth on the grid ahead of Bruno Bonifacio, third in Group A.

Aurelien Panis was another to claim a strong result with the fourth best time in Group B, clinching him seventh on the grid ahead of his Group A counterpart Oscar Tunjo. Matthieu Vaxiviere and Ed Jones are set to complete the top ten on the grid.

Update: Gasly had his three fastest times deleted after stewards found that he had exceeded the track limits on three separate occasions. His consistent pace however means that his fourth best time of 1m41.831 was still good enough to beat Ocon by 0.058s to top Group A and take pole position.

Race one grid
Pos Driver Team
1 Pierre Gasly Tech 1 Racing
2 Oliver Rowland Manor MP Motorsport
3 Esteban Ocon ART Junior Team
4 Jake Dennis Fortec Motorsports
5 Nyck de Vries Koiranen GP
6 Bruno Bonifacio Prema Powerteam
7 Aurelien Panis Prema Powerteam
8 Oscar Tunjo Josef Kaufmann Racing
9 Matthieu Vaxiviere Tech 1 Racing
10 Ed Jones Fortec Motorsports
11 Egor Orudzhev Tech 1 Racing
12 Andrea Pizzitola ART Junior Team
13 Kevin Jorg Jenzer Motorsport
14 Ryan Tveter Fortec Motorsports
15 Luca Ghiotto Prema Powerteam
16 William Vermont ARTA Engineering
17 Steijn Schothorst Josef Kaufmann Racing
18 Alex Albon KTR
19 Levin Amweg Jenzer Motorsport
20 Ignazio D?Agosto KTR
21 Gustav Malja Josef Kaufmann Racing
22 Roman Mavlanov RC Formula
23 Mikko Pakari Fortec Motorsports
24 Benjamin Bailly RC Formula
25 Simon Gachet ARTA Engineering
26 Yu Kanamaru KTR
27 Guilherme Silva Koiranen GP
28 Victor Franzoni Koiranen GP
29 Gregor Ramsay Manor MP Motorsport
30 Marcos Siebert Jenzer Motorsport
31 Alejandro Abogado Interwetten.com Racing
32 Leo Roussel ARTA Engineering
33 Francesco Mora Interwetten.com Racing