Home Formula FordFFord Festival Foster, Browne and Dempsey take FFord Festival heat poles

Foster, Browne and Dempsey take FFord Festival heat poles

by Formula Scout

Joey Foster, Jonathan Browne and Jordan Dempsey topped qualifying for the three Formula Ford Festival heats at Brands Hatch.

Don Hardman Racing’s Foster took pole for first heat, pipping B-M Racing’s Max Marzorati late on, while defending Josh Smith struggled with engine issues in his Oldfield Motorsport-ran car.

There was a strong fight for pole early on, before the session was red flagged when Springbridge Motorsport’s Tom Hawkins went off at Clearways. There was further drama after the restart, with Adam Fathers also crashing after Foster had set his pole lap.

Dario Franchitti Ciaran Haggerty was third fastest for Graham Brunton Racing, ahead of 16-year-old Team USA Scholar Josh Green and Kevin Mills Racing’s Michael Macpherson.

Green’s Cliff Dempsey Racing team-mate Jonathan Browne controlled qualifying for Heat 2, heading Luke Cooper (Swift Cooper), reigning BRSCC National FF1600 champion Ross Martin (Team Dolan) and Michael Eastwell (KMR).

Asian Formula 3 racer Jordan Dempsey put KMR on pole for the third heat, hitting the top of the time early in the?15-minute session and remaining there until the chequered flag.

Family relation and Indy Lights race-winner Peter Dempsey jumped up the order to second place for his dad’s CDR team with four minutes.

Souley Motorsport’s Ollie White was third fastest, with Niall Murray – in National FF1600 regular Adam Quartermaine’s Van Diemen RF99 – just 0.010s behind in fourth.

Team USA scholar Scott Huffaker set his best time as he crossed the chequered flag to go fifth, ahead of B-M Racing duo Rory Smith and Tom McArthur.

Richard Davison, son of four-time Australian Grand Prix winner Lex, was 16th fastest in a 30-year-old Van Diemen.

Qualifying round-up
Heat 1 grid
1 Joey Foster Don Hardman Racing 50.327s
2 Max Marzorati B-M Racing +0.373s
3 Ciaran Haggerty Graham Brunton Racing +0.408s
4 Josh Green Cliff Dempsey Racing +0.433s
5 Michael Macpherson Kevin Mills Racing +0.488s
6 Matt Cowley Team Dolan +0.523s
7 Callum Crawley Kevin Mills Racing +0.637s
8 David McCullough Team DDR +0.836s
9 Joshua Smith Oldfield Motorsport +1.066s
10 Adam Higgins +1.258s

Heat 2 grid
1 Jonathan Browne Cliff Dempsey Racing 50.324s
2 Luke Cooper Swift Cooper +0.072s
3 Ross Martin Team Dolan +0.182s
4 Michael Eastwell Kevin Mills Racing +0.214s
5 Chris Middlehurst Team Dolan +0.310s
6 Ivor McCullough Team DDR +0.506s
7 Zachary Vanier Cliff Dempsey Racing +0.663s
8 Alan Davidson Harris Racing +0.673s
9 Jamie Sharp Team Dolan +0.683s
10 Bryce Aron Oldfield Motorsport +0.743s

Heat 3 grid
1 Jordan Dempsey Kevin Mills Racing 50.732s
2 Peter Dempsey Cliff Dempsey Racing +0.203s
3 Ollie White Souley Motorsport +0.245s
4 Niall Murray Team Dolan +0.255s
5 Scott Huffaker Cliff Dempsey Racing +0.350s
6 Rory Smith B-M Racing +0.358s
7 Tom McArthur B-M Racing +0.614s
8 Morgan Quinn Team Dolan +0.728s
9 Noel Robinson +1.036s
10 Jack Kemp Enigma Motorsport +1.497s