Home News Ferrari junior Wharton takes first F4 win in red-flagged Dubai race

Ferrari junior Wharton takes first F4 win in red-flagged Dubai race

by Craig Woollard

Photo: F4 UAE

Ferrari junior James Wharton beat Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak to win in Formula 4 United Arab Emirates for the first time at the Dubai Autodrome.

Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema’s Wharton beat MP Motorsport driver Inthraphuvasak off the line from pole to take the lead at the start of the 25-minute race. Global Racing Service’s Vladislav Ryabov had a brilliant start behind and tried to hang around the outside to slot into second place, but couldn’t do so and started to drop through the order.

From there, the top two kept close throughout and traded fastest laps until single-seater rookie Wharton started to open up a small gap to his rival.

That was until the safety car came out for a collision involving sportscar star Loris Spinelli. He had contact with two other cars, one of which is suspected to be Ollie Gray, who was in the same region as Spinelli and made a pitstop immediately after the safety car was called.

The race resumed with enough time for two racing laps, but after Nikita Bedrin spun around Aiden Neate into the path of Martinus Stenshorne there was two stationary cars on track and so red flags concluded the race prematurely.

This left Wharton the winner ahead of Inthraphuvasak, with Charlie Wurz rounding out the podium after a robust scrap with Prema stablemate Neate early on in the race. That scrap allowed MP’s Miron Pingasov into the mix, but he was given a 10-second penalty for being out of position at the start which dropped him right down the order.

Despite the incident, Neate was classified in fourth in the provisional results ahead of PHM Racing’s Bedrin, who charged up from 11th on the grid, and Stenshorne.

Ferrari junior Rafael Camara finished in seventh in what was his delayed car racing debut, ahead of Taylor Barnard, Jamie Day and Alex Dunne.

Race results (12 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 James Wharton Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema 22m57.962s
2 Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak MP Motorsport +0.347s
3 Charlie Wurz Prema +0.759s
4 Aiden Neate Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema +1.129s
5 Nikita Bedrin PHM Racing +1.506s
6 Martinius Stenshorne 3Y by R-ace GP +1.775s
7 Rafael Camara Prema +2.232s
8 Taylor Barnard PHM Racing +2.964s
9 Jamie Day Xcel Motorsport +3.773s
10 Alex Dunne Hitech GP +3.873s
11 Sohil Shah Mumbai Falcons by Xcel +4.419s
12 Vladislav Ryabov GRS +4.801s
13 Rik Koen MP Motorsport +5.249s
14 Suleiman Zanfari MP Motorsport +5.711s
15 Nikhil Bohra 3Y by R-ace GP +6.095s
16 Jonas Ried PHM Racing +6.798s
17 Joseph Loake JHR Developments +7.045s
18 Ricardo Escotto Cram-Hitech GP +7.517s
19 Nandhavud Bhirombhakdi Xcel Motorsport +8.447s
20 Brando Badoer AKM Motorsport +9.085s
21 Anshul Gandhi Cram-Hitech GP +9.761s
22 Jules Castro Pinnacle Motorsport +10.314s
23 Ivan Domingues Xcel Motorsport +10.618s
24 Victoria Blokhina 3Y by R-ace GP +11.325s
25 Michael Shin JHR Developments +12.679s
26 Miron Pingasov MP Motorsport +12.715s
27 Ismail Akhmedkhodjaev Xcel Motorsport +12.766s
Ret Oliver Gray Hitech GP
Ret Loris Spinelli AKM Motorsport
Fastest lap: Wharton, 1m40.031s

Championship standings
1 Antonelli 83   2 Inthraphuvasak 67   3 Neate 60   4 Wharton 52   5 Wurz 51   6 Barnard 41   7 Bedrin 28   8 Day 23   9 Koen 20   10 Gray 19