Home Featured Eurocup champion Fenestraz prevents Shwartzman triple win in Barcelona finale

Eurocup champion Fenestraz prevents Shwartzman triple win in Barcelona finale

by Ida Wood

Sacha Fenestraz drove a champion?s race to win the final race of the Formula Renault Eurocup season at Barcelona, withstanding pressure from Robert Shwartzman throughout.

Fenestraz took a record-equalling ninth pole of the season in qualifying, with Shwartzman lining up alongside on the front row.

At the start Shwartzman did not offer too much of a challenge, but reset himself after a short safety car period and stayed on Fenestraz?s gearbox for the rest of the race.

Although Fenestraz continuously locked up at Turn 4, there was no opening for Shwartzman and they ended the 15 lap race separated by 0.4 seconds.

Max Defourny made up for his destructive race two crash with his 11th podium of the season, with Will Palmer finishing fourth and securing second place in the standings.

Richard Verschoor finished fifth and took the rookie win, with Tech 1 team-mates Gabriel Aubry and Max Fewtrell just behind.

Alex Peroni, Jarno Opmeer and Aleksey Korneev rounded out the points.

Red Bull junior Daniel Ticktum finished 12th, meaning Fewtrell?s seventh place secured the Renault F1 junior the rookie?s title.

Aleksandr Vartanyan, who qualified tenth, fell to the back of the field on the first lap after an off at Turn 4, but overtook 10 drivers and finished the race an impressive 18th.

The sole appearance of the safety car in the race was to retrieve Ghislain Cordeel?s stricken car from the Turn 12 gravel.

The crash that eliminated 12 drivers from the second race also prevented four from starting the third, with Zane Goddard, Charles Milesi, Jean-Baptiste Simmenauer and Najiy Razak failing to take part due to the damage to their cars.

Race results (15 laps)

Pos Name Team Gap
1 Sacha Fenestraz Josef Kaufmann Racing 27m30.197s
2 Robert Shwartzman R-ace GP +0.400s
3 Max Defourny R-ace GP +6.445s
4 Will Palmer R-ace GP +7.360s
5 Richard Verschoor MP Motorsport +7.430s
6 Gabriel Aubry Tech 1 Racing +7.520s
7 Max Fewtrell Tech 1 Racing +7.896s
8 Alex Peroni Fortec Motorsports +8.792s
9 Jarno Opmeer MP Motorsport +9.399s
10 Aleksey Korneev Fortec Motorsports +10.138s
11 Yifei Ye Josef Kaufmann Racing +11.325s
12 Dan Ticktum Arden +16.825s
13 Thomas Maxwell Tech 1 Racing +17.438s
14 Thomas Randle AVF +17.814s
15 Xavier Lloversa AVF +19.040s
16 Henrique Chaves AVF +19.432s
17 Neil Verhagen MP Motorsport +19.889s
18 Aleksandr Vartanyan JD Motorsport +20.944s
19 Thomas Neubauer Tech 1 Racing +22.106s
20 Frank Bird Fortec Motorsports +22.501s
21 Axel Matus AVF +24.166s
22 Raul Guzman R-ace GP +24.624s
23 Luis Leeds Josef Kaufmann Racing +26.143s
24 Sun Yue Yang JD Motorsport +26.554s
25 Julia Pankiewicz Mark Burdett Motorsport +30.674s
Ret Logan Sargeant R-ace GP
Ret Presley Martono Mark Burdett Motorsport
Ret Ghislain Cordeel Arden
Pole Sacha Fenestraz Josef Kaufmann Racing 1m42.894s
FL Robert Shwartzman R-ace GP 1m45.141

Championship Standings
1 Fenestraz 367.5 ??2 Palmer 298 ??3 Shwartzman 285 ??4 Defourny 255 ??5 Aubry 232 ??6 Fewtrell 164 ??7 Ticktum 134 ??8 Ye 106.5 ??9 Verschoor 89 ??10 Peroni 71