Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup Eurocup leader Max Fewtrell fastest in Friday running ahead of Barcelona decider

Eurocup leader Max Fewtrell fastest in Friday running ahead of Barcelona decider

by Peter Allen


Max Fewtrell was fastest in Friday practice ahead of the final round of the Formula Renault Eurocup at Barcelona, which he heads into as the championship leader.

R-ace GP driver Fewtrell posted the day’s best time of a 1m42.095s towards the end of the first session, which he topped by 0.274 seconds over JD Motorsport driver Lorenzo Colombo.

Three R-ace GP drivers were inside the top four, with Logan Sargeant third and Victor Martins fourth.

Fewtrell’s championship rivals Yife Ye and Christian Lundgaard – who are 20.5 and 36.5 points respectively behind the Briton – were fifth and sixth.

Oscar Piastri, Alexander Smolyar, Eliseo Martinez and Raul Guzman completed the top 10 in the morning and overall.

Lundgaard went on to top the slower second session with a lap of 1m43.383s with Colombo again second, but just 0.04s away.

Fewtrell was seventh, two places ahead of Ye.

The second session was red-flagged with six minutes to go after Freek Schothorst crashed at the fast Turn 9 right-hander, damaging both the front and rear of his car.


Free practice results
Pos Driver Team FP1 FP2
1 Max Fewtrell R-ace GP 1m42.095 1m43.876
2 Lorenzo Colombo JD Motorsport 1m42.369 1m43.423
3 Logan Sargeant R-ace GP 1m42.490 1m44.038
4 Victor Martins R-ace GP 1m42.543 1m44.010
5 Yifei Ye Josef Kaufmann Racing 1m42.606 1m43.959
6 Christian Lundgaard MP Motorsport 1m42.616 1m43.383
7 Oscar Piastri Arden 1m42.989 1m43.544
8 Alexander Smolyar Tech 1 Racing 1m43.061 1m43.808
9 Eliseo Martinez AVF 1m43.064 1m44.256
10 Raul Guzman Fortec Motorsports 1m43.165 1m44.019
11 Clement Novalak Josef Kaufmann Racing 1m43.177 1m44.184
12 Charles Milesi R-ace GP 1m43.193 1m44.352
13 Frank Bird Tech 1 Racing 1m43.251 1m44.057
14 Thomas Maxwell JD Motorsport 1m43.278 1m43.806
15 Freek Schothorst MP Motorsport 1m43.283 1m44.157
16 Alex Peroni MP Motorsport 1m43.412 1m43.900
17 Nikita Volegov Arden 1m43.439 1m44.457
18 Neil Verhagen Tech 1 Racing 1m43.678 1m43.693
19 Axel Matus AVF 1m43.744 1m45.025
20 Christian Munoz AVF 1m43.843 1m44.744
21 Sami Taoufik Arden 1m43.874 1m44.678
22 Vladimir Tziortzis Fortec Motorsports 1m44.169 1m44.033
23 Najiy Razak JD Motorsport 1m44.113 1m44.776
24 Thomas Neubauer Tech 1 Racing 2m03.817 1m44.166