Home Formula 4ADAC F4 Dienst beats Eriksson to take ADAC F4 victory at Sachsenring

Dienst beats Eriksson to take ADAC F4 victory at Sachsenring

by Gruz David
Foto: Gruppe C GmbH

Foto: Gruppe C GmbH

Marvin Dienst converted his pole position into a race win in the first ADAC F4 race at Sachsenring, which featured three safety car stints.

Dienst emerged victorious following a battle with main title rival Joel Eriksson, who managed to overtake him with a better launch off the line.

Despite leading off the line, Eriksson could not pull away from Dienst and the latter soon reclaimed the lead, just before the first appearance of the safety car, due to the stranded car of Marek Bockmann.

The duo confidently led the field at the restart until Giorgio Maggi‘s incident, which neutralized the race once again.

And the green flag did not last long next time around either thanks to a?collision between Robert Shwartzman and Janneau Esmeijer.

The Mucke driver was trying to overtake the dropping Joseph Mawson at turn one but went way too deep into the corner and hit Esmeijer’s car, who suffered a broken suspension, and got trapped in the gravel.

With only one minute left on the clock, the race was called at that point, gifting Dienst the victory.

Eriksson finished second to minimize Dienst’s advances in the championship, while the podium was completed by Tim Zimmermann.

Having avoided Shwartzman’s manoeuvre, Mawson secured fourth, followed by fellow Van Amersfoort teammates Mick Schumacher and Harrison Newey.

David Beckmann and Kim-Luis Schramm, both dropping positions after running fourth, ended up seventh and ninth respectively with Mike Ortmann taking eighth.

The top ten was completed by Michael Waldherr who will start the reverse-grid race three from pole position.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Marvin Dienst HTP Junior Team 19 laps in 30:27.187
2 Joel Eriksson Motopark +0.827
3 Tim Zimmermann Neuhauser Racing +1.489
4 Joey Mawson Van Amersfoort Racing +1.826
5 Mick Schumacher Van Amersfoort Racing +2.316
6 Harrison Newey Van Amersfoort Racing +3.393
7 David Beckmann Mucke Motorsport +4.634
8 Mike Ortmann Mucke Motorsport +5.734
9 Kim-Luis Schramm Neuhauser Racing +7.025
10 Michael Waldherr Motopark +8.396
11 Jason Kremer Team Timo Scheider +9.428
12 Jannes Fittje Motopark +10.704
13 Moritz Muller-Crepon Jenzer Motorsport +11.165
14 Jonathan Cecotto Motopark +11.850
15 David Kolkmann Jenzer Motorsport +12.439
16 Cedric Piro Piro Sports +13.203
17 Luca Engstler Engstler Motorsport +14.081
18 Nikolaj Rogivue SMG Swiss Motorsport Group +15.063
19 Carrie Schreiner HTP Junior Team +15.804
20 Michelle Halder Liqui Moly Team Engstler +16.557
21 Yan Leon Shlom Team Timo Scheider +18.203
22 Marylin Niederhauser Race Performance +25.325
23 Toni Wolff Piro Sports +27.011
24 Janneau Esmeijer HTP Junior Team +1 lap
25 Benjamin Mazatis Mucke Motorsport +1 lap
26 Jan Jonck RS Competition +1 lap
27 Robert Schwartzman Mucke Motorsport +2 laps
Not classified
Giorgio Maggi SMG Swiss Motorsport Group +8 laps
Marek Bockmann Jenzer Motorsport +16 laps
Nico Rindlisbacher Jenzer Motorsport +16 laps